fbpx
Call 0203 006 5730 / 07747 686118 or email info@carolinecarterrecruitment.com

Yard Manager 266 views

Ref: GL15047

Candidate contact details are only visible to employers with a current subscription
Subscribe

General Information

  • Age 44 years
  • Date of Birth 23rd December 1975
  • Had previous paid employment within the equine industry? Locked
  • Preferred Countries United Kingdom
  • County/State/Region North Yorkshire, UK, West Yorkshire, UK
  • Job Category Full Time, Permanent
  • Earliest start date 20th September 2020
  • Freelance: Business Name Locked
  • Freelance: Hourly Rate Locked
  • Freelance: are you insured? Locked
  • Notice period 1 month
  • Best time to call Locked
  • Working Couples: Partner's profile reference number Locked
  • Live in or out Live out
  • Co-habiting? Locked
  • Full Postcode if live out (Private) Locked
  • Expected Job Level Manager
  • Animals to bring to a job Locked
  • Describe the animal/s you HAVE to bring to the job (if applicable) Locked
  • Can drive Car, 3.5t, 7.5t, Category C1
  • Own car? Car
  • Height 5’2” / 157cm
  • Approximate weight 8.5st / 54kg / 119lb
  • Total years experience with horses Locked
  • Previous paid/work experience Locked
  • Future disciplines Dressage, Show Jumping
  • Riding Role? Locked
  • Nationality British
  • Languages spoken Locked
  • Qualifications Locked
  • Equine Skills Back/Break, Bandage, Clip, Compete, Equine First Aid, Exercise/Hack Out, Long Rein, Lunging, Maintenance Skills, Management Skills, Muck Out, Plait, Pull Mane/Tail, Ride, Rider/Trainer, School, Show Turnout, Sole charge, Stallion Handling, Supervisory Skills, Teach, Trim, Veterinary Experience, Work Rider, Work with children, Young Stock Handler, Young Stock Rider, Travelling Horses by Sea or Air
  • Non-Equine Skills Locked
  • Longest time in one job Locked
  • Position held in this job Locked
  • 2nd longest time in one job Locked
  • Position held in this job Locked
  • Upload your CV Locked
  • Current passport? Locked
  • DBS (formerly CRB) or equivalent Locked
  • Smoker? Locked
  • Video URL Locked
  • Image Uploads Locked

Experience with Horses

I have 40 years experience  with horses I started riding at the age of 2 and had my own pony by the age of 3. I started showing and by the time I was 11 I was hooked on show jumping which then progressed to one day eventing at the age of 16 I competed at novice level in affiliated events. I have been running my own yard of 5 horses alongside my full time job for the last 20 years I compete in affiliated Dressage, unaffiliated show jumping and I have just taken up side saddle again.

I have worked on event and show jumping yards where I was in sole charge of up to 15 horses. As well as looking after them at home I travelled and groomed at 4*star 3 day events with the eventers and also major shows both in England and abroad with the show jumpers.

I also worked for Manchester police as a groom for the police horses.

Although I have been working in an office environment for the last 18years I have always worked with my own competition horses.

I studied Advanced Diploma in Equine and Business studies  at Bishop Burton College and also gained my Assistant Instructors qualification.

 

Key Skills

I am happy to work in a team or on my own I am very easy to get on with and have a can do attitude.

I am an excellent time keeper and extremely loyal to my employer.

I turn all horses out to a very high standard including plaiting, clipping, pulling mane and tail making sure all the tack and equipment are spotless and safety checks each time I clean it.

I am happy to muck out sweep the yards making sure everywhere including tack rooms are clean and tidy.

I am used to monitoring feeding and changing it in line with the requirement of the individual horse.

I have a vast amount of experience in dealing with all types of competition horses including stallions.

I am an excellent record keeper for vaccination, shoeing, dentist, worming, vets visits, stud records etc.

I am a very patient person and love to learn I also love to pass on my knowledge in training other people.

I am used to doing entries both online and manually and also making travel arrangements.

I currently drive my 7.5 tonne wagon on a regular basis I would be willing to take my HGV if needed.

I am very computer literate I use word and excel on a regular basis along with various accountancy packages I can also use social media and update websites.

I have excellent people skills and I am used to dealing with clients over the phone and face to face.

First aid at work certificate held

Strengths and Weaknesses

I love working with any horse I take my time to get to know each horse individually so I know instantly if there is anything wrong and also the horse builds up an relationship with you and learns to trust you. I always have the horses welfare as my first priority.

 

• Is there anything you’d like to improve on?

I would like to have the opportunity to expand on my knowledge of show jumping

 

• Why should employers consider you above any other job seeker?

I am a mature experienced horse person looking for a permanent long term role. I am used to travelling long distances in to my place of work never missing a day due to bad weather.

Requirements

• What would you like to do or gain in your next job?

I would like to be yard manager for my next role .

• Do you need accommodation?

No

• Do you have any special requirements for any animals you wish to bring with you?

No

• Do you have any ongoing commitments?

I have an 11 year old son but I have child care 100% covered

• Do you have any holidays booked that an employer needs to know of

 

Information

Caroline Carter Recruitment Ltd
The Stables
Fildyke Road
Meppershall
Bedfordshire
SG17 5LU

caroline@carolinecarterrecruitment.com
0203 006 5730 / 07747 686 118

Registered company number 10657796good site
Caroline Carter Recruitment Ltd is registered with the UK Information Commissioner as a data controller with registered number ZA250621

ENDORSED BY