Call 0203 006 5730 / 07747 686118 or email info@carolinecarterrecruitment.com

Experienced Racing Groom/ Rider 128 views

Ref: GL15928

Candidate contact details are only visible to employers with a current subscription

General Information

  • Age 33 years
  • Date of Birth 12th November 1985
  • Preferred Countries United Kingdom, The EU, Europe
  • County/State/Region Anywhere
  • Job Category Full Time
  • Earliest start date 6th June 2019
  • Freelance: Business Name Locked
  • Freelance: Hourly Rate Locked
  • Freelance: are you insured? Locked
  • Notice period Available now
  • Best time to call Locked
  • Working Couples: Partner's profile reference number Locked
  • Live in or out Live in
  • Co-habiting? Locked
  • Full Postcode if live out (Private) Locked
  • Expected Job Level Groom/Rider, Rider, Part of a Team, Sole Charge, Assistant Head Person, Head Person, Manager, Home Groom, Competition Groom, Other
  • Animals to bring to a job Locked
  • Describe the animal/s you HAVE to bring to the job (if applicable) Locked
  • Can drive Car
  • Own car? Car
  • Height 5’8” / 172cm
  • Approximate weight 11st / 69.9kg / 154lb
  • Total years experience with horses Locked
  • Previous paid/work experience Locked
  • Future disciplines Dressage, Endurance, Eventing, Foaling, Hunting, P2P, Racing Flat, Racing NH, Rescue, Rehabilitation, Retail, Show Jumping, Stud, Team Chase, Training Yard/Positions, Trekking, Working Hunter
  • Riding Role? Locked
  • Nationality British
  • Languages spoken Locked
  • Qualifications Locked
  • Equine Skills Back/Break, Bandage, Clip, Compete, Equine First Aid, Exercise/Hack Out, Long Rein, Lunging, Maintenance Skills, Management Skills, Muck Out, Plait, Pull Mane/Tail, Ride, Rider/Trainer, School, Sole charge, Work Rider
  • Non-Equine Skills Locked
  • Longest time in one job Locked
  • Position held in this job Locked
  • 2nd longest time in one job Locked
  • Position held in this job Locked
  • Upload your CV Locked
  • Current passport? Locked
  • DBS (formerly CRB) or equivalent Locked
  • Smoker? Locked
  • Video URL Locked
  • Image Uploads Locked

Experience with Horses

Riding since I was 5 years old.

Showjumped local shows as a teenager on a novice pony – never came home without a rosette – qualified Trailblazers by winning local class (in Trailblazers 2nd year running). Finished 6th in final.

Went into racing as a 17yo, had a point to pointer on free loan.

Worked in top racing yards such as Henrietta Knight, Henry Candy, Barry Hills, Charlie Hills, Emma Lavelle, Oliver Sherwood.

I had lessons as a young child with Yogi Briesner when he first came over to England.

I still ride racehorses, but have lost a bit of confidence. Honesty is the best policy!

– I’m currently looking for a career change, after working with racehorses most of the last 16 years.

– I’ve no ties to keep me in England and am happy to move!

– I’ve ridden/ worked with racehorses since I left Sixth Form, working my way up the career ladder to travelling head girl most recently for an up and coming Flat racing yard.

– I’ve plenty of experience having sole charge (on a weekend) of up to 60 racehorses (usual head person duties; checking legs, attending to minor injuries, calling vets as required for major problems/ injuries and knowing when to do so, feeding and adjusting feed, checking racing tack, making notes for carriers etc). And I’ve travelled horses around the UK both in charge as a travelling head groom and as a stable groom, to race meetings, sales, studs, vets, or simply to go home.

– I take pride in doing the job to the best of my ability, and am happy doing odd jobs as required.



Key Skills

– Have NVQ3 in Racehorse Care and Management.

– Can work alone or with others.

– Capable of sole charge, have done this with up to 60+ racehorses.

– Can drive a 2 box, and have done around the UK.

– Won Best Turned Out award ’17/’18 NH season with over 25 turnouts won at the races.

– Can plait manes, but NOT tails

– Punctual, and usually a little early.

– Have clipped, but not for a few years.

– Great at record keeping, have done medical book for racehorses 2013/2015.

– Enjoy working with vets and physiotherapists to learn more about horses.

– Have also done Social Media management, and Customer Service whilst out of racing (2015 – 2017).


Strengths and Weaknesses

• I love the different characters each horse has, and learning how to deal with different horses in different ways.


• I love to learn and work with people that know what they are doing; vets and physiotherapists especially.


• I like to get on and do my job, as long as the job is clearly communicated and I know what is expected of my role and where I fit in.

I have a dry sense of humour 🙂



• I would consider a job out of racing and also in Europe. I’d still like to ride, and am happy to move


• I would need accommodation.

I would be looking for a wage starting on £420 as an experienced senior member of staff.

Available from early June



Caroline Carter Recruitment Ltd
The Stables
Fildyke Road
SG17 5LU

0203 006 5730 / 07747 686 118

Registered company number 10657796good site
Caroline Carter Recruitment Ltd is registered with the UK Information Commissioner as a data controller with registered number ZA250621