Call 0203 006 5730 / 07747 686118 or email info@carolinecarterrecruitment.com

Experienced Horse Handler 6 views

Ref: GL16724

Candidate contact details are only visible to employers with a current subscription
Subscribe

General Information

  • Age 23 years
  • Date of Birth 31st July 1995
  • Preferred Countries United Kingdom
  • County/State/Region Anywhere
  • Job Category Full Time
  • Earliest start date 17th May 2019
  • Freelance: Business Name Locked
  • Freelance: Hourly Rate Locked
  • Freelance: are you insured? Locked
  • Notice period n/a
  • Best time to call Locked
  • Working Couples: Partner's profile reference number Locked
  • Live in or out Live in
  • Co-habiting? Locked
  • Full Postcode if live out (Private) Locked
  • Expected Job Level Groom/Rider
  • Animals to bring to a job Locked
  • Describe the animal/s you HAVE to bring to the job (if applicable) Locked
  • Can drive None
  • Own car? Car
  • Height 5’4” / 162cm
  • Approximate weight 8st / 50.8kg / 112lb
  • Total years experience with horses Locked
  • Previous paid/work experience Locked
  • Future disciplines Eventing
  • Riding Role? Locked
  • Nationality British
  • Languages spoken Locked
  • Qualifications Locked
  • Equine Skills Back/Break, Bandage, Broodmares, Equine First Aid, Exercise/Hack Out, Foaling/Foal Watch, Long Rein, Lunging, Maintenance Skills, Management Skills, Muck Out, Ride, School, Sole charge, Stallion Handling, Supervisory Skills, Veterinary Experience, Young Stock Handler
  • Non-Equine Skills Locked
  • Longest time in one job Locked
  • Position held in this job Locked
  • 2nd longest time in one job Locked
  • Position held in this job Locked
  • Upload your CV Locked
  • Current passport? Locked
  • DBS (formerly CRB) or equivalent Locked
  • Smoker? Locked
  • Video URL Locked
  • Image Uploads Locked

Experience with Horses

I owned a loan pony when I was 9 years old; she was an ex show jumper and had the mindset to prove it.

I had a brief break from horses whilst I made the transition into secondary school yet got my first (owned) pony; a 14.2 Irish Sports Type mare when I was 14. We did not have the easiest start as she had proved to be sharper than we had anticipated. I had to adapt, trying to keep up with her scope. To do this I went on a 5 day Intelligence Horsemanship course where I learnt the importance of building bonds to create trust; my efforts were directed at understanding her erratic behaviours and to help her to overcome her past traumas. Yet with hard work we achieved a solid relationship and were able to go out competing in all disciplines.

In this time, I got a job at Myerscough College working on their Connemara stud farm. I was exposed to a variety of horses; from a police horse we had in for rehabilitation, an ex-racing thoroughbred with arthritis and many Connemara foals. I spent time handling foals, backing young horses and developing their fitness for sale. We occasionally worked with stallions and colts. I took the youngsters to local shows and was involved in all stages from prep work to handling. I used the techniques that I had developed with my pony in order to build up trust of the youngsters making them easier to work with both on the ground and under saddle.

• Responsibilities included:
– meeting vets for regular yard visits
– opening and locking up yard
– health and safety appraisals
– foal watch
– administration of animal medication
– keeping horses in their regular routineS

 

Key Skills

– working alone and with others
– prioritising
– taking responsibility
– organisation
– keeping a high level of yard standard
– establishing and maintaining routines
– working calmly with difficult horses
– spotting changes in behaviour and knowing when to notify a vet
– handling young horses
– grooming
– mucking out and field maintenance
– observant
– proactive

 

Strengths and Weaknesses

• What do you most enjoy about working with horses?

I strongly believe that horses are one of the most sympathetic and astute animals; I love how aware they are to human emotions. Because of this I think that there is nothing more special than being able to build a trusting bond with an animal that has the potential to cause harm.

• Is there anything you’d like to improve?

I would like to improve my confidence at competition. I am particularly confident with horse handling and riding at home but would like more exposure to a busy competition environment.

• Why should employers consider you above any other job seeker?

After a prolonged period of time with horses, I left for university to pursue other avenues. Whilst I was there I realised that my true passion lay with my childhood dreams. I have had exposure to a variety of work and social situations and have a comprehensive understanding of both business and people as well as horses. I have worked with young, old, difficult and easy horses and have, over the years, learnt to adapt accordingly to their personalities. I am a sympathetic rider but most importantly am a reliable and capable horse handler.

Requirements

• What would you like to do or gain in your next job?

I would like the opportunity to be active and outside and to further develop my riding skills at a higher (competition level). I am a ‘people person’ and would relish the opportunity to work with both people and horses.

• Do you need accommodation?

Yes

• Do you have any special requirements for any animals you wish to bring with you?

I have a small and extremely well-behaved dog that I would like to bring with me

• Do you have any ongoing commitments?

No

• Do you have any holidays booked that an employer needs to know of?

I have a holiday booked 27th May – 3rd June

Information

Caroline Carter Recruitment Ltd
The Stables
Fildyke Road
Meppershall
Bedfordshire
SG17 5LU

caroline@carolinecarterrecruitment.com
0203 006 5730 / 07747 686 118

Registered company number 10657796good site
Caroline Carter Recruitment Ltd is registered with the UK Information Commissioner as a data controller with registered number ZA250621

ENDORSED BY