fbpx
Call 0203 006 5730 / 07747 686118 or email info@carolinecarterrecruitment.com

Groom/rider 158 views

Ref: GL14523

Candidate contact details are only visible to employers with a current subscription
Subscribe

General Information

  • Age 19 years
  • Date of Birth 15th July 2001
  • Had previous paid employment within the equine industry? Locked
  • Preferred Countries United Kingdom, Europe, United States of America
  • County/State/Region Australia, Cornwall, UK, Gloucestershire, UK, Ireland, Wiltshire, UK
  • Job Category Full Time, Part Time, Permanent
  • Earliest start date 1st February 2021
  • Freelance: Business Name Locked
  • Freelance: Hourly Rate Locked
  • Freelance: are you insured? Locked
  • Notice period N/A
  • Best time to call Locked
  • Working Couples: Partner's profile reference number Locked
  • Live in or out Live in
  • Co-habiting? Locked
  • Full Postcode if live out (Private) Locked
  • Expected Job Level Groom, Groom/Rider, Rider, Part of a Team, Competition Groom
  • Animals to bring to a job Locked
  • Describe the animal/s you HAVE to bring to the job (if applicable) Locked
  • Can drive Car
  • Own car? Car
  • Height 5’2” / 157cm
  • Approximate weight 9.5st / 60.3kg / 133lb
  • Total years experience with horses Locked
  • Previous paid/work experience Locked
  • Future disciplines Eventing, Family Yard, Rescue, Rehabilitation, Show Jumping, Stud
  • Riding Role? Locked
  • Nationality British
  • Languages spoken Locked
  • Qualifications Locked
  • Equine Skills Bandage, Clip, Compete, Equine First Aid, Exercise/Hack Out, Foaling/Foal Watch, Long Rein, Lunging, Maintenance Skills, Management Skills, Muck Out, Plait, Pull Mane/Tail, Ride, Sales Preparation, School, Show Turnout, Sole charge, Stallion Handling, Teach, Trim, Work with children, Young Stock Handler
  • Non-Equine Skills Locked
  • Longest time in one job Locked
  • Position held in this job Locked
  • 2nd longest time in one job Locked
  • Position held in this job Locked
  • Upload your CV Locked
  • Current passport? Locked
  • DBS (formerly CRB) or equivalent Locked
  • Smoker? Locked
  • Video URL Locked
  • Image Uploads Locked

Experience with Horses:

I have been around  horses for the majority of my life and although I wasn’t born into a horsey family, I have been riding since I was around 5-years-old. Throughout the years I have loaned a couple of horses and I have also ridden at a variety of riding schools each of which helped to build on my previous knowledge and experience. For the last 2 years, I have been completing the ‘level 3 extended diploma in horse management’ at Hadlow college which entails a variety of crucial lessons to help prepare the students for any future jobs that they may enter in the equine industry. Whilst at Hadlow college, I have also completed and passed my BHS stage 1 ride & care, my BHS ride & road safety and I have also achieved my BHS stage 2 ride, care and lunge.

Within my first year, these lessons included prep & present, health & feeding, behaviour, biology/physiology/anatomy and tack & clothing to name a few. These progressed into our second year lessons which included young-stock, business, fitness, event and project (we had to undertake a short study in our chosen field of the equine industry). Expanding over my 2 years at Hadlow college, I also undertook the flat, jump (including cross-country in the second year), lunge and long reining (also in the second year) units where I achieved 2 strong merits & 1 distinction in flat, 2 distinctions for jump, 2 distinctions for lunge and I also achieved a distinction in my long reining assessment.

As part of the young-stock unit in our second year, we were responsible for helping with the backing of the rising 4-year-old home-bred gelding. This included general handling and grooming/bathing as well as preparing him for lunging/long reining/riding sessions. Thanks to our college’s breeding programme, the second year students are also able to handle all of the horses from the ages of 1 month to our older horses that are around 22 years old.

Lastly, the other units such as health and feeding/fitness allowed me to gain basic knowledge of horse injuries/ailments as well as signs & symptoms and suitable treatments that should be used. This included knowing how to remove a shoe if necessary as well as general health routines including worming, dentist visits, vaccinations and farrier appointments/different shoes and remedial shoeing.

Key Skills

My key skills that I have picked up throughout my time both inside of college include mucking out and turning out to a very high standard, the ability to work confidently both individually and as part of a team and confidence when riding a variety of horses (e.g. stallions, youngsters, greener horses, event horses) both on the flat and over jumps. I am also confident when it comes to plaiting, tacking up for different disciplines and handling a wide variety of horses both at shows and at home.

Strengths and Weaknesses

What do you most enjoy about working with horses?

When it comes to working with horses, I love being able to create a bond with them and watching them progress whether it be during ridden sessions/ground work or improving their confidence. In addition to this, I feel that working with animals is so rewarding and all the effort that is put into them is returned with their hard work and loyalty.

• Is there anything you’d like to improve?

As I have incredibly high standards for mucking out, I can sometimes get carried away and time seems to slip away very quickly. I would like to improve my timings whilst maintaining the same cleanliness and neatness of my beds. I would also love the opportunity to improve my clipping skills because although I am able to clip, there is always room for improvement.

Why should employers consider you above any other job seeker?

I am always willing to give 110% to any task that is asked of me however if I am not confident with something, I love learning new skills and will happily try and try again until I get into the rhythm of it. As a person who has worked at a variety of different yards, I will never shy away from hard work and I love working individually but also as part of a team (whether that be as a team member or taking charge of the team where necessary). In addition to this, I am a bubbly, positive and confident individual with a can-do attitude who will always approach new situations with an open mind and I am able to make quick, logical decisions whenever necessary.

Since leaving Hadlow, I have began work teaching the equine unit at a land based college for special education children which I am loving however I’m am now looking for a change of pace.

Requirements

What would you like to do or gain in your next job?

I would love to gain new knowledge and experiences whether that comes from riding or grooming out at national/international shows or completing more BHS/teaching/riding exams. The location of a job isn’t important to me as I love seeing how different people train for a variety of disciplines and I am always looking for new things to learn. I would also really love to gain some more riding and competing experience if that opportunity were to arise.

• Do you need accommodation?

I have my full UK driving licence as well as my own car however if the job is based further away then is sensible to drive daily,  I would please ask for accommodation.

• Do you have any special requirements for any animals you wish to bring with you?

I have recently bought my own horse who is a 2 year old chestnut Arab x quarter horse so would need a suitable arrangement ebt for her

• Do you have any ongoing commitments?

N/A

• Do you have any holidays booked that an employer needs to know of?

Information

Caroline Carter Recruitment Ltd
The Stables
Fildyke Road
Meppershall
Bedfordshire
SG17 5LU

caroline@carolinecarterrecruitment.com
0203 006 5730 / 07747 686 118

Registered company number 10657796good site
Caroline Carter Recruitment Ltd is registered with the UK Information Commissioner as a data controller with registered number ZA250621

ENDORSED BY