fbpx
Call 0203 006 5730 / 07747 686118 or email info@carolinecarterrecruitment.com

Thoroughbred Pre-Trainer 128 views

Ref: GL17859

Candidate contact details are only visible to employers with a current subscription
Subscribe

General Information

  • Age 24 years
  • Date of Birth 25th January 1996
  • Had previous paid employment within the equine industry? Locked
  • Preferred Countries United Kingdom, Scotland, The EU
  • County/State/Region Anywhere
  • Job Category Full Time, Working Couple
  • Earliest start date 1st October 2019
  • Freelance: Business Name Locked
  • Freelance: Hourly Rate Locked
  • Freelance: are you insured? Locked
  • Notice period 1 month
  • Best time to call Locked
  • Working Couples: Partner's profile reference number Locked
  • Live in or out Live in, Live out
  • Co-habiting? Locked
  • Full Postcode if live out (Private) Locked
  • Expected Job Level Sole Charge, Assistant Head Person, Head Person, Manager
  • Animals to bring to a job Locked
  • Describe the animal/s you HAVE to bring to the job (if applicable) Locked
  • Can drive Car, Tractor
  • Own car? Car
  • Height 5’5” / 165cm
  • Approximate weight 9st / 57.2kg / 126lb
  • Total years experience with horses Locked
  • Previous paid/work experience Locked
  • Future disciplines Family Yard, Foaling, Rescue, Rehabilitation, Retail, Sales, Stud
  • Riding Role? Locked
  • Nationality British
  • Languages spoken Locked
  • Qualifications Locked
  • Equine Skills Back/Break, Bandage, Equine First Aid, Exercise/Hack Out, Lunging, Maintenance Skills, Management Skills, Muck Out, Pull Mane/Tail, Sole charge, Supervisory Skills, Work Rider, Young Stock Handler, Young Stock Rider
  • Non-Equine Skills Locked
  • Longest time in one job Locked
  • Position held in this job Locked
  • 2nd longest time in one job Locked
  • Position held in this job Locked
  • Upload your CV Locked
  • Current passport? Locked
  • DBS (formerly CRB) or equivalent Locked
  • Smoker? Locked
  • Video URL Locked
  • Image Uploads Locked

Experience with Horses

Completed 14 week residential course at the British Racing school in Newmarket in February 2014. From there I was a stable lad/work rider in Newmarket before heading to Deauville to work ride for 3 months.

For the past 3 years I have been a Pre Trainer in Bahrain, on the royal Safra stud working for the royal family. This position has been a managerial role. I am in charge of 10 members of staff, with 30-35 yearling thoroughbreds each season.

I have been overseeing all daily duties including but not limited to – individual horse feeding programmes, exercising programmes, liaising with vets and farriers, staff disputes and holidays.

 

Key Skills

I enjoy working alone or as part of a team. Confident in all duties related to the care and exercise of horses. I have great initiative and able to solve problems well.

Prior to my work with horses I was a landscape gardener, so I am happy to do all aspects of grounds keeping and minor maintenance work.

I have been an active volunteer with animals, so I feel confident in carrying out help/work with other species of animals and habitats.

 

 

Strengths and Weaknesses

I enjoy working with horses a lot, as every horse (and animal) have a unique character. You are able to build strong relationships with each and every individual and both teach and learn as you both progress.

As far as improvement and personal development, I would like to learn more about the general grounds and housing associated with horses and other animals. For example, what goes into planning a yard?

I feel my experiences over these last 3 years working in the Middle East have helped me grow as a horseman and manager. I have learnt people management skills. The constant change in horses each year has opened me up to varying temperaments and behaviours of young horses.

My one weakness is my riding. I took a fall in France and have not been riding much since. I can ride a hack horse or do minimal exercise, however a full time riding position just wouldn’t be possible for me.

 

Requirements

For my next job, I would like to stay in a higher position (managerial) and hope to keep progressing. I am very business minded so would  I would like to keep learning all the ins and outs to horses and running a successful and happy yard.

I have a family consisting of my Wife, (almost) 2 year old daughter and 4 dogs. Should this be too much for onsite accommodation, I would be happy to look into renting near by.

I would be moving back to the UK with 4 dogs and 1 cat. I have no special requirements regarding this, however, a dog friendly work environment would be beneficial.

I am currently employed here in Bahrain. So a time scale of 4-6 weeks to hand my notice in and prepare to travel back would be sufficient.

No holidays or other commitments.

 

Information

Caroline Carter Recruitment Ltd
The Stables
Fildyke Road
Meppershall
Bedfordshire
SG17 5LU

caroline@carolinecarterrecruitment.com
0203 006 5730 / 07747 686 118

Registered company number 10657796good site
Caroline Carter Recruitment Ltd is registered with the UK Information Commissioner as a data controller with registered number ZA250621

ENDORSED BY