fbpx
Call 0203 006 5730 / 07747 686118 or email info@carolinecarterrecruitment.com

Yard Groom 142 views

Ref: GL17906

Candidate contact details are only visible to employers with a current subscription
Subscribe

General Information

  • Age 33 years
  • Date of Birth 16th March 1987
  • Had previous paid employment within the equine industry? Locked
  • Preferred Countries United Kingdom
  • County/State/Region Wiltshire, UK
  • Job Category Flexible Hours, Full Time, Part Time, Permanent
  • Earliest start date 30th August 2020
  • Freelance: Business Name Locked
  • Freelance: Hourly Rate Locked
  • Freelance: are you insured? Locked
  • Notice period N/A
  • Best time to call Locked
  • Working Couples: Partner's profile reference number Locked
  • Live in or out Live out
  • Co-habiting? Locked
  • Full Postcode if live out (Private) Locked
  • Expected Job Level Trainee, Groom, Groom/Rider, Part of a Team, Sole Charge
  • Animals to bring to a job Locked
  • Describe the animal/s you HAVE to bring to the job (if applicable) Locked
  • Can drive Car
  • Own car? Car
  • Height 5’5” / 165cm
  • Approximate weight 13.5st / 85.7kg / 89lb
  • Total years experience with horses Locked
  • Previous paid/work experience Locked
  • Future disciplines Rehabilitation, Therapeutic Riding
  • Riding Role? Locked
  • Nationality British
  • Languages spoken Locked
  • Qualifications Locked
  • Equine Skills Exercise/Hack Out, Long Rein, Lunging, Muck Out, Pull Mane/Tail, Sole charge, Work with children
  • Non-Equine Skills Locked
  • Longest time in one job Locked
  • Position held in this job Locked
  • 2nd longest time in one job Locked
  • Position held in this job Locked
  • Upload your CV Locked
  • Current passport? Locked
  • DBS (formerly CRB) or equivalent Locked
  • Smoker? Locked
  • Video URL Locked
  • Image Uploads Locked
  • Experience with Horses

I am a qualified and insured Equine Sports Massage therapist and currently am self employed. I have worked with a variety of horses in the short time I have been qualified. I own 2 horses , a 12.2 Sec B and a 16.3 Irish Hunter, both of which are in work. I have had the pleasure of owning horses over the last 15 years (ridden and cared for horses for over 20 years) and all have lived with me until the time comes to say goodbye. I have previously worked on a fair sized hunting yard, although this was around 7 years ago. In this role, I was mucking out, leading in and out if any were turned out/needing bringing in, ride and lead and tack up ready for a days hunting. This was a part time position, including weekends. Around 15 years ago, I was in sole charge of a small yard, with 4 retired dressage horses and one livery. My position here meant I was in charge of the upkeep of the yard, ensuring the horses needs were met, grooming, mucking out, poo picking, field management and breakfast, lunch and dinner was provided. I have continued to worked with horses on an adhoc basis, whilst being employed full time outside of the equestrian industry. I have helped with ‘troubled loaders’ and general odd jobs such as poo picking, mucking out and riding, attending vet visits and reporting back to the owner.  I am a capable rider, hacking out, schooling if required (although a little rusty) . I have previously enjoyed cross country and jumping in general and am currently getting back into the swing of things with my horse. I have managed various conditions such as arthritis, Laminitis, PSSM, RER, Equine Metabolic Syndrome and Cushings disease.

Key Skills

I am capable of working alone and I do enjoy working with others too. I am able to muck out to a high standard and I like to work hard, there is always satisfaction in a job well done! I am able to assess situations and respond appropriately. I am confident when handling horses, from the young to geriatric, they are always my favourites! I am happy to take sole charge and equally happy to work with others. I have a good understanding of horses and being able to treat each one as an individual. I am able to groom to good standard, although clipping and plaiting is something I need to work on as I am somewhat rusty.

I am able to work within a time constraint environment and juggle many tasks, I have a good sense of urgency, without the flap.

Strengths and Weaknesses

• What do you most enjoy about working with horses?

The horses! They are such a pleasure to be around, even the grumpy ones! Each horse is its own person and learning about them is just wonderful. I enjoy the satisfaction of building a friendship up with them and being able to care for them. They say ‘find a job you love and you will never work a day in your life’ Working around and with horses comes naturally to me, it is a true passion of mine.

• Is there anything you’d like to improve?

There are always improvements to be made, however key skills would be clipping and plaiting.

• Why should employers consider you above any other job seeker?

I am a hard worker and conscientious. I take pride in my work and have high standards for the work I carry out. I am a good time keeper and am reliable. No task is too big or too small. I am honest and straightforward. I am a friendly person and feel I am easy to communicate with. I also come with a good sense of humour and make a mean coffee!

Requirements

• What would you like to do or gain in your next job?

I would like a position where I’ll be challenged and be able to continually grow, a position where things are not always routine. I have set my goals of where I would like to be and want to be able to continually move forward, I would like to gain my trailer licence and Equine First Aid, these are next on my agenda. I want to gain more experience working with horses and within the equine industry.

• Do you need accommodation?

No

• Do you have any special requirements for any animals you wish to bring with you?

Possibly a well behaved dog and a 7 year old child if hours are after school. Both well behaved with manners. Although not essential.

• Do you have any ongoing commitments?

Just my horses, child, dogs and partner.

• Do you have any holidays booked that an employer needs to know of?

From October 26th to 2nd November.

Information

Caroline Carter Recruitment Ltd
The Stables
Fildyke Road
Meppershall
Bedfordshire
SG17 5LU

caroline@carolinecarterrecruitment.com
0203 006 5730 / 07747 686 118

Registered company number 10657796good site
Caroline Carter Recruitment Ltd is registered with the UK Information Commissioner as a data controller with registered number ZA250621

ENDORSED BY