fbpx
Call 0203 006 5730 / 07747 686118 or email info@carolinecarterrecruitment.com

Groom/rider 142 views

Ref: GL19114

Candidate contact details are only visible to employers with a current subscription
Subscribe

General Information

  • Age 23 years
  • Date of Birth 19th January 1998
  • Had previous paid employment within the equine industry? Locked
  • Preferred Countries United Kingdom
  • County/State/Region Berkshire, UK, Buckinghamshire, UK, Greater London, UK, London, Middlesex, UK, Oxfordshire, UK, Surrey, UK
  • Job Category Full Time, Permanent
  • Earliest start date 1st January 2020
  • Freelance: Business Name Locked
  • Freelance: Hourly Rate Locked
  • Freelance: are you insured? Locked
  • Notice period none
  • Best time to call Locked
  • Working Couples: Partner's profile reference number Locked
  • Live in or out Live out
  • Co-habiting? Locked
  • Full Postcode if live out (Private) Locked
  • Expected Job Level Apprentice, Trainee, Groom, Groom/Rider, Rider, Part of a Team, Sole Charge, Assistant Head Person, Home Groom, Competition Groom, Stud Groom
  • Animals to bring to a job Locked
  • Describe the animal/s you HAVE to bring to the job (if applicable) Locked
  • Can drive None
  • Own car? None
  • Height 5”6’ / 167cm
  • Approximate weight 8.5st / 54kg / 119lb
  • Total years experience with horses Locked
  • Previous paid/work experience Locked
  • Future disciplines College, Dressage, Eventing, Family Yard, Livery, Racing Flat, Show Jumping, Stud, Training Yard/Positions
  • Riding Role? Locked
  • Nationality South African
  • Languages spoken Locked
  • Qualifications Locked
  • Equine Skills Bandage, Equine First Aid, Exercise/Hack Out, Lunging, Maintenance Skills, Management Skills, Muck Out, Plait, Pull Mane/Tail, Ride, Show Turnout, Trim, Work Rider, Work with children
  • Non-Equine Skills Locked
  • Longest time in one job Locked
  • Position held in this job Locked
  • 2nd longest time in one job Locked
  • Position held in this job Locked
  • Upload your CV Locked
  • Current passport? Locked
  • DBS (formerly CRB) or equivalent Locked
  • Smoker? Locked
  • Video URL Locked
  • Image Uploads Locked

Experience with Horses

Outline your experience with horses here/the scope of your freelance services. If you’re looking for a non-equine or non- yard-based job please use this space to describe your experience skills/abilities and adapt the questions to suit your line of work.

During my 13 years of being around horses, I have embarked on various courses such as being in the process of obtaining my BHS level 1 and FEI judging qualifications. I have also worked at my local show venue for the past three years. I have helped to produce young horses and have experience in sole care of multiple horses at one time. I haven’t had much competition experience as I have always managed to acquire accident prone horses however I don’t see this as a hindrance as I have worked in the show scene for so long that I understand how the environment works and what is expected from the competitors. I have never rushed myself when it comes to horses so I am proud to say that the skills I have are well established however I am always eager to learn more and improve where necessary.

My current job has found me working for a horse insurance company which has given me great inside into equine conditions and the valuation of horses as I am apart of their claims and sales team. More information on this can be provided

 

Key Skills

What are you particularly good at? For example: working alone, working with others, clipping, plaiting, turning out for shows, handling stallions, handling/riding young horses, non-equine skills etc

Due to my past and current employment, I am extremely comfortable working either alone or with others and I value that both are required for their own reasons in this industry- as long as I get given my tasks, I am happy to complete them in any manner required from me. I have had experience doing turn out for shows and it helps that I am OCD when it comes to horse cleanliness. I have ridden young horses and helped produce them after their racing careers (I produced my horse entirely on my own and he has gone on to jump over 1.2m).

I’m not nervous around any horses so handling stallions isn’t a problem for me nor are young horses. I have had experience scheduling vet and farrier visits, ordering feed, taking blankets for repairs and making repairs required around the yard. Basic equine first aid is also a skill of mine (I have correctly diagnosed Bilary twice despite not having the support of my vet thus saving my horse’s life and I have rehabilitated a life-threatening leg injury).

My organizational skills are above average due to having to run my own online business and due to managing my school work. I have good communication skills and take criticism well.

 

Strengths and Weaknesses

• What do you most enjoy about working with horses?

Horses are my absolute passion, there is always something to learn from them meaning that no day is the same which I enjoy the most. They are the most relaxing creatures to be around.

• Is there anything you’d like to improve?

Having had my horses live out for the past few years, my mucking out skills have dwindled therefore I would definitely want to improve on this aspect. I have also always struggled to plait tails and my bandaging skills could improve so these are all areas I would wish to improve on as well as my riding as I feel that there is always something to improve. Learning more about nutrition and the maintenance of sport horses is another interest of mine.

• Why should employers consider you above any other job seeker?

I am an extremely hard worker that finds pride in completing tasks to a near perfect level (or as close as reasonably possible to my abilities). There isn’t a time where I will say no or turn down the opportunity to perform a task, ask a question or better my knowledge/understanding of a topic making me the most malleable prospect as I conform to whatever the job requires from me.

I have taken on a full-time (casual) contract while studying law full-time (via correspondence) which has taught me the importance of time-management and multitasking. This is always a valuable skill to have especially when dealing with animals as unpredictable as horses. Due to my passion, I have really made it my goal to try learn a variety of skills in the industry making me well-exposed to most scenarios (it helps that I have had a extremely accident prone horse as it has broaden those skills even more).

This is my absolute passion and that in itself should be a huge contributing factor as to why I would be a great employee because if one doesn’t enjoy what they are doing then they won’t ever succeed at it.

Requirements

• What would you like to do or gain in your next job?

I would love to get as much exposure to horse care/maintenance and riding as possible in order to hone my skills and develop new ones in places I have yet to be exposed to thus having a well-educated team or supervisor would be ideal.

• Do you need accommodation?

I don’t require accommodation.

• Do you have any special requirements for any animals you wish to bring with you?

I currently have no animals however I would like to acquire a horse in the near future so if I could bring it along to my future employment then that would be greatly appreciated.

• Do you have any ongoing commitments?

I don’t currently have any ongoing commitments.

• Do you have any holidays booked that an employer needs to know of?

No

Information

Caroline Carter Recruitment Ltd
The Stables
Fildyke Road
Meppershall
Bedfordshire
SG17 5LU

caroline@carolinecarterrecruitment.com
0203 006 5730 / 07747 686 118

Registered company number 10657796good site
Caroline Carter Recruitment Ltd is registered with the UK Information Commissioner as a data controller with registered number ZA250621

ENDORSED BY