fbpx
Call 0203 006 5730 / 07747 686118 or email info@carolinecarterrecruitment.com

Intermediate home groom 160 views

Ref: GL14923

Candidate contact details are only visible to employers with a current subscription
Subscribe

General Information

  • Age 43 years
  • Date of Birth 30th May 1977
  • Had previous paid employment within the equine industry? Locked
  • Preferred Countries United Kingdom, Wales, Scotland
  • County/State/Region Anywhere
  • Job Category Full Time, Working Couple
  • Earliest start date 25th September 2020
  • Freelance: Business Name Locked
  • Freelance: Hourly Rate Locked
  • Freelance: are you insured? Locked
  • Notice period 1 month
  • Best time to call Locked
  • Working Couples: Partner's profile reference number Locked
  • Live in or out Live in
  • Co-habiting? Locked
  • Full Postcode if live out (Private) Locked
  • Expected Job Level Groom, Groom/Rider, Rider, Part of a Team, Sole Charge, Assistant Head Person, Head Person, Home Groom, Stud Groom, Stud Hand, Other, Housekeeper
  • Animals to bring to a job Locked
  • Describe the animal/s you HAVE to bring to the job (if applicable) Locked
  • Can drive Car, Tractor
  • Own car? Car
  • Height 5’8” / 172cm
  • Approximate weight 9.5st / 60.3kg / 133lb
  • Total years experience with horses Locked
  • Previous paid/work experience Locked
  • Future disciplines Dealer, Endurance, Eventing, Family Yard, Foaling, Hunting, Livery, Polo, Rehabilitation, Riding School, Sales, Show Jumping, Stud, Training Yard/Positions, Working Hunter
  • Riding Role? Locked
  • Nationality British
  • Languages spoken Locked
  • Qualifications Locked
  • Equine Skills Bandage, Broodmares, Clip, Equine First Aid, Exercise/Hack Out, Foaling/Foal Watch, Long Rein, Lunging, Maintenance Skills, Management Skills, Muck Out, Plait, Pull Mane/Tail, Ride, Sales Preparation, School, Show Turnout, Sole charge, Stallion Handling, Supervisory Skills, Trim, Work with children, Young Stock Handler
  • Non-Equine Skills Locked
  • Longest time in one job Locked
  • Position held in this job Locked
  • 2nd longest time in one job Locked
  • Position held in this job Locked
  • Upload your CV Locked
  • Current passport? Locked
  • DBS (formerly CRB) or equivalent Locked
  • Smoker? Locked
  • Video URL Locked
  • Image Uploads Locked

About me

Hi , I’m 42 yrs old

I’m a farmers granddaughter from Cheshire .

I Learnt to ride from 3 yrs old

I left home after college and headed south with jobs in the equine industry. I’ve lived in various place in the southwest , living and working with horses but sheep cows dogs goats chickens along the way for people/ family’s & yards I’ve worked for.

From job to job I’ve met people along the way giving me other openings of work to experience.

About me –

I have my own dogs , small flock of sheep (not to move with me ) as we graze the local solar park on the farm where we live .

Myself and my partner run a small flock of sheep for the last 3 years . He is a contract shepherd and has a good customer base up and down the country taking him away parts of the year for 3 or 4 weeks at a time . He owns his own 3 or 4 working sheepdogs , well trained and kennelled . I have my spaniel who as a hobby and day of for me I take him to pick up at a local family shoot with a friend and have done for the past 5/6 yrs . I love the outdoor life and always will and if I can work in what I do best and make life easier for someone I will and I thrive on it . I never traveled abroad when younger but covered through work and friends most of the south westuk .We have been lucky enough over the last 2 years to know people in New Zealand and been over 2018/19 in August for a month on holiday to see people and enjoy a relaxing months holiday . From previous relationship Nick has a 22 yr old daughter in NZ . He does occasionally travel over to see her on his own .

We work well together and apart , in the equine and agricultural industry you have to be flexible .

Education

High school – gcse grade B to D

Reaseheath agri college, Nantwich , Cheshire nvq small animal care , btec national equine studies , basic equine first aid.

I originally had in my mind heading on the veterinary route .

Employment

Polly Williamson (Lyon) event rider – groom 3 years 1994 – 1997/8

Malmesbury

Starting at the bottom , living in on the yard and learning the ropes . Working along side working pupils , grooms, head girl to run the yard of 15 horses (varying) at times .

Over time I learnt to plait very well , clip and tend to fit competition horses . Traveling to events after 18 months of being there , being in charge of 2/3 horses to prepare for each discipline up and down the uk . There were the odd brood mare and youngster belonging to estate polly was resident at.

I Learnt to ride better and given the chance to hack competition horses . Working my way up the yard ladder , learning plait , clip and turn out  for competitions .

Jamie Railton (bloodstock agent)

A slight change in direction and experience . Within 15 mins from polly (previous)

Preparing foals and yearlings for sales . Working along side Jamie and his family and other staff (1/2) to prep youngsters for sale and traveling to sales .

Teaching youngsters to walk in hand daily , twice a day . Preparing coat – high powered grooming , tails and maines.

Enjoying the family atmosphere, only living at the top of the drive in a cottage – looking after for a London friend of Jamie’s .

Family yard (lambourn)

An opening came available- (being single and no ties) to live in with a hunt/p.c family

Unfortunately the family were looking for some help due to family member not being very well

Child care – 2 girls aged 7 & 10 . Local school runs .

There 2 ponies and parents 2 hunt horses .

Daily care alround for the dogs , horses , chickens and children .

Preparing the horses for the parents to hunt where able at this busy time

A big help to them and fully enjoyed again the private / family atmosphere.

A step away

2001 saw the birth of my son , death of my mother and working for a department store .

2003 – we moved further south to mere / Gillingham Dorset

My son being 3 saw him head to childcare in prep for school and me heading back to work .

Hunt family

Local advert and I was lucky enough to get the position

Large family with hunt horses and 4 children varying in age from 2/3 yrs to 10/11 years old .

Nanny employed , so no childcare for me except for taking the older ones out for hacks and little ones up and down the large drive for a ride on there ponys .

Mum of the house was field master for the hunt so regular prep of 2/3 days a week hunting between her 2/3 horses

Husband away a lot working but regularly hunted on a Saturday .

It was a great family environment and if needs be on quiet days my son was able to come with me and potter around while I did the basics on the yard .

I continued to work for this family for about 8 yrs including moving house with them when they moved 10 miles up the road , having purchased a farm .

More staff part time etc were employed to help as the horses and ponies got bigger as there children grew and further there disciplines with more hunting and eventing and pony club .

Other family’s / yards local were advertising help wanted .

On My Own

My time with previous family came to an end – they moved again and it was too far from home to travel .

I’d been offered a part time hunt job with family down the road in the same area 2/3 days a week . They had just moved to the area and he had taken over the local hunt ( hence why they heard of me )

I was approached and asked if I would work for them at home – 2 young boys both ridding and mum hunts .

This was MFH wife I was to work for at home and help with the horses and dogs when she was at work . 1 boy away at bording school , youngest local boarding so saw them mainly in the school holidays .

Keeping all horses and 2 ponies fit in between .

I am still with them and have been for about 9/10 years now . Both boys now university age and just the 2 wife’s horses . I house sit , dog walk , help in house with basics where needed and letting in various painters / electricians where needed as daily life sees .

I have picked up various other work of mucking out , basic daily care for other local family’s , dressage horses for local vets wife , local family dog walks for friends / people who know me through being so local for so long , farm family with heavy horses , sheep , chickens , pigs , turkeys . Stud work has also come back on board now working 2 days a week for a family with a small stud . All jobs are every day , traveling and returning for various duties from 6 am through to 5/6 pm depending time of year .

I’ve had various keys to various people over the years as an emergency with animals so they always had someone local to see to things if needed .

In General /Going forward .

I / we have come to a decision we would like to move areas and settle else where for the foreseeable future , looking for the southwest or Scotland but haven’t ruled out other areas .

I am looking for a large family / estate – full time or good flexibility to enable me for pheasant shooting and other animals (farm) work nearby.

I have excellent references available on request .

Many thanks

Information

Caroline Carter Recruitment Ltd
The Stables
Fildyke Road
Meppershall
Bedfordshire
SG17 5LU

caroline@carolinecarterrecruitment.com
0203 006 5730 / 07747 686 118

Registered company number 10657796good site
Caroline Carter Recruitment Ltd is registered with the UK Information Commissioner as a data controller with registered number ZA250621

ENDORSED BY