fbpx
Call 0203 006 5730 / 07747 686118 or email info@carolinecarterrecruitment.com

Riding Groom 218 views

Ref: GL20427

Candidate contact details are only visible to employers with a current subscription
Subscribe

General Information

  • Age 22 years
  • Date of Birth 29th November 1997
  • Had previous paid employment within the equine industry? Locked
  • Preferred Countries United Kingdom, Wales, Ireland, Europe
  • County/State/Region Anywhere
  • Job Category Freelance, Full Time, Part Time, Permanent, Seasonal, Short Term (Temporary)
  • Earliest start date 6th May 2020
  • Freelance: Business Name Locked
  • Freelance: Hourly Rate Locked
  • Freelance: are you insured? Locked
  • Notice period 2-4 weeks
  • Best time to call Locked
  • Working Couples: Partner's profile reference number Locked
  • Live in or out Live in
  • Co-habiting? Locked
  • Full Postcode if live out (Private) Locked
  • Expected Job Level Groom/Rider
  • Animals to bring to a job Locked
  • Describe the animal/s you HAVE to bring to the job (if applicable) Locked
  • Can drive Car, 3.5t
  • Own car? Car
  • Height 5’2” / 157cm
  • Approximate weight 8.5st / 54kg / 119lb
  • Total years experience with horses Locked
  • Previous paid/work experience Locked
  • Future disciplines Dealer, Dressage, Eventing, Family Yard, Horse Transport, Livery, Rescue, Rehabilitation, Sales, Show Jumping, Stud
  • Riding Role? Locked
  • Nationality British
  • Languages spoken Locked
  • Qualifications Locked
  • Equine Skills Back/Break, Bandage, Broodmares, Clip, Compete, Equine First Aid, Exercise/Hack Out, Long Rein, Lunging, Maintenance Skills, Muck Out, Plait, Pull Mane/Tail, Ride, Rider/Trainer, Sales Preparation, School, Show Turnout, Sole charge, Stallion Handling, Trim, Work Rider, Young Stock Handler, Young Stock Rider
  • Non-Equine Skills Locked
  • Longest time in one job Locked
  • Position held in this job Locked
  • 2nd longest time in one job Locked
  • Position held in this job Locked
  • Upload your CV Locked
  • Current passport? Locked
  • DBS (formerly CRB) or equivalent Locked
  • Smoker? Locked
  • Video URL Locked
  • Image Uploads Locked

Experience with Horses

I have been working in the industry for approximately 10 years now, having first started at a dealers yard who also operated a riding school on site, as a young teenager I was given Irish horses to produce, compete and either merge into the riding school life or sell to private homes. In this time I found my passion for show jumping and producing young, quirky horses. I then moved on to freelance work, working for many private clients offering holiday cover, schooling, sales and odd jobs, one of my main clients was Huntsmans Stables in West Woodhay, where I provided regular work mucking out, turning out, preparing horses for riding, lunging/freeschooling for fitness and hacking their dressage horses including the stallions.

I took 2 years away from working with horses to then gain my level 3 diploma in horse care and management before then moving to Bristol to work at Kenn Pier stables, where I performed all usual yard duties that extended to land management and maintenance and schooled livery horses on request from owners.

I then decided I wanted to focus on riding and training horses and went to work  for Fairlight Stud as a riding groom with heavy focus on the riding, day to day I will lend a hand in morning yards but then will spend the rest of the day working up to 14 horses ranging from breakers to breeding stallions and everything inbetween. I have been lucky enough to ride and work with stallions Sir Shutterfly and Jonkers Metyo and break and produce Fairlight First Flyte myself and take horses I have broken to their first dressage, cross country and show jumping outings. Unfortunately due to covid-19 they had to make me redundant.
With this, I travelled to Panningen, Holland to work for an international show jumping couple as their sole charge riding groom where I undertake all horse care including mucking out, grooming off, preparing for clients/riders/competition, using therapy blankets on the horses, driving 3.5t box to competitions and training and schooling horses at home on the flat and over fences. I thoroughly enjoy working so close to exciting venues such as Lier and Equestian centre de Peelbergen however I am looking to return to the UK to work so I can be closer to family.

 

Key Skills

Time management, working alone, mane pulling, plaiting, clipping, breaking and producing young horses, good sense of humour, organisational and planning, quick learner, open minded, show jumping, driving 3.5t, sole charge.

 

 

Strengths and Weaknesses

• What do you most enjoy about working with horses?

My passion is producing young or quirky horses and seeing them improve over days, weeks and months is what gets me up in the mornings, the added excitement of competing to show case their newfound skills is a bonus. I also enjoy working with the horses on the ground and forging relationships with them even if its just the 10 minutes spent mucking out around them.

• Is there anything you’d like to improve?

I would like to improve my riding as there is always something that can be worked on to make better. Ideally I would also like to gain a solid Proven competition record at national shows.

• Why should employers consider you above any other job seeker?

I am incredibly hardworking and enthusiastic with a strong belief that you get out of this industry what you put in . I am passionate about my work and the care of all horses in my responsibility – treating them as my own in all respects to ensure top quality handling, riding and husbandry. I am organised and enjoy putting my head down to get on with my work, I don’t spend hours in the tack room gossiping but I do enjoy socialising with a nice team.

Requirements

• What would you like to do or gain in your next job?

I would really like to now focus on my show jumping and hopefully get the chance to compete or groom at bigger competitions. However I would equally be very happy to focus on riding breakers and producing younger horses until they are ready to go to a competition rider.

• Do you need accommodation?

yes, unless located South Wales or Bristol.

• Do you have any special requirements for any animals you wish to bring with you?

I would need to be able to bring my 6 month old whippet x puppy.

• Do you have any ongoing commitments?

yes, I am currently working in Holland and would like to be able to give current bosses 2-4 weeks notice to find my replacement.

• Do you have any holidays booked that an employer needs to know of?

None.

Information

Caroline Carter Recruitment Ltd
The Stables
Fildyke Road
Meppershall
Bedfordshire
SG17 5LU

caroline@carolinecarterrecruitment.com
0203 006 5730 / 07747 686 118

Registered company number 10657796good site
Caroline Carter Recruitment Ltd is registered with the UK Information Commissioner as a data controller with registered number ZA250621

ENDORSED BY