fbpx
Call 0203 006 5730 / 07747 686118 or email info@carolinecarterrecruitment.com

Groom 49 views

Ref: GL19178

Candidate contact details are only visible to employers with a current subscription
Subscribe

General Information

  • Age 19 years
  • Date of Birth 19th November 2000
  • Had previous paid employment within the equine industry? Locked
  • Preferred Countries United Kingdom
  • County/State/Region Hampshire, UK, Surrey, UK, West Sussex, UK
  • Job Category Full Time
  • Earliest start date 7th September 2020
  • Freelance: Business Name Locked
  • Freelance: Hourly Rate Locked
  • Freelance: are you insured? Locked
  • Notice period 2 weeks
  • Best time to call Locked
  • Working Couples: Partner's profile reference number Locked
  • Live in or out Live out
  • Co-habiting? Locked
  • Full Postcode if live out (Private) Locked
  • Expected Job Level Trainee, Groom, Groom/Rider, Part of a Team
  • Animals to bring to a job Locked
  • Describe the animal/s you HAVE to bring to the job (if applicable) Locked
  • Can drive Car
  • Own car? Car
  • Height 5’2” / 157cm
  • Approximate weight 8.5st / 54kg / 119lb
  • Total years experience with horses Locked
  • Previous paid/work experience Locked
  • Future disciplines Carriage Driving, Dressage, Endurance, Eventing, Family Yard, Livery, Polo, Pony Club Activities, Riding for the Disabled (RDA), Rescue, Rehabilitation, Riding School, Showing, Show Jumping, Therapeutic Riding
  • Riding Role? Locked
  • Nationality British
  • Languages spoken Locked
  • Qualifications Locked
  • Equine Skills Clip, Compete, Equine First Aid, Long Rein, Maintenance Skills, Muck Out, Plait, Pull Mane/Tail, Ride, Trim, Work with children
  • Non-Equine Skills Locked
  • Longest time in one job Locked
  • Position held in this job Locked
  • 2nd longest time in one job Locked
  • Position held in this job Locked
  • Upload your CV Locked
  • Current passport? Locked
  • DBS (formerly CRB) or equivalent Locked
  • Smoker? Locked
  • Video URL Locked
  • Image Uploads Locked

Experience with Horses

I have worked ans volunteered with horses since 2016. I began by helping out 1 day a week at a small local riding school, I was there every Saturday, this is where i began to take up riding. To begin with I learnt how to groom and turn out, then towards the end of 2017 I began showing younger, newer volunteers how the yard works and what needs to be done each day. Towards the end of 2018 I began to work for a lady who has few ponies, I generally just poo-picked the fields for her and in August 2019 I did 10 days sole charge holiday cover for her 5 ponies (1 stabled and 4 living out 24/7). Then in September 2019 at the same time as the start of my second year of college I began working 1 day a week on a livery yard. This yard has a variety of horses from large sports horses to small ponies, I do not ride at this job. My riding has improved greatly since i started college, as i was having 2 weekly lessons, one jumping and one for flat-work. I did also work at a retail shop (non-equine related) for just over a year. This helped me to build my customer service skills.

Key Skills

  • I am punctual and ready to work when I arrive
  • I am well organized
  • I work well as part of team to achieve collective goals weather they are daily yard tasks or more long term
  • I work well on my own and can use my initiative
  • Visual health checking when stabled/turned out
  • Checking fencing- maintaining electric fencing and assessing suitability
  • Helping with Exercising when needing- in-hand walking and overseeing lunging
  • Mucking-out- straw, shavings, disinfecting stables
  • Feeding- making feeds to dietary requirements, hay nets
  • Problem solving
  • Health and safety Procedures

Strengths and Weaknesses

I enjoy working with horses as they are part of an ever changing industry, there is always new methods and discoveries than can be used to improve the health and well being of horses. I enjoy the lifestyle that goes with working with horses, I have never had a problem with being up early and spending time outdoors. I enjoy working on a yard as the routine and structure helps me to know what i need to be doing to use my most effectively.

I would like to improve my ridden work as i have only learnt to jump at the beginning of 2019, as my end of year exam was to jump a small course. This was cancelled due to CVOID-19, however I feel I would have passed and done my absolute best. My flat work does need improvement in many areas but I am willing to put the time and effort in to achieve this. Additionally I would like to expand my clipping and bandaging skills as I have only done these at college. I know some basic clips and can do these neatly. I know some basic bandaging techniques such as stable and exercise, however more practice would be good for both of these. I would also like to gain my trailer towing and eventually my HGV license as these are both invaluable skills to have.

I am always punctual and when I arrive I am ready to work straight away. I have my own car and I am used to travelling as my college was an hour’s drive away. I am excited to get further experience within the industry and keen to learn from those who have ‘been there and done it.’

Requirements

Progression through qualifications such as instructor exam support or building towards my HGV license.

I will not require accommodation as i will be looking for jobs withing an hour of the Portsmouth or Chichester areas.

I do not have any pets that I will need to account for when applying for jobs, I do not feel that I would have the time for my own horse.

The only ‘holiday’ I have that ~I will need to attend is from the 26th to the 29th of march, this has been postponed due the COVID-19.

Information

Caroline Carter Recruitment Ltd
The Stables
Fildyke Road
Meppershall
Bedfordshire
SG17 5LU

caroline@carolinecarterrecruitment.com
0203 006 5730 / 07747 686 118

Registered company number 10657796good site
Caroline Carter Recruitment Ltd is registered with the UK Information Commissioner as a data controller with registered number ZA250621

ENDORSED BY