fbpx
Call 0203 006 5730 / 07747 686118 or email info@carolinecarterrecruitment.com

Groom 88 views

Ref: GL20906

Candidate contact details are only visible to employers with a current subscription
Subscribe

General Information

  • Age 20 years
  • Date of Birth 16th July 2000
  • Had previous paid employment within the equine industry? Locked
  • Preferred Countries United Kingdom, Wales, Scotland, Ireland, Northern Ireland, The EU, Europe, United States of America, Other
  • County/State/Region Anywhere
  • Job Category Flexible Hours, Full Time, Permanent, Seasonal, Short Term (Temporary)
  • Earliest start date 20th June 2020
  • Freelance: Business Name Locked
  • Freelance: Hourly Rate Locked
  • Freelance: are you insured? Locked
  • Notice period Two weeks
  • Best time to call Locked
  • Working Couples: Partner's profile reference number Locked
  • Live in or out Live in
  • Co-habiting? Locked
  • Full Postcode if live out (Private) Locked
  • Expected Job Level Apprentice, Trainee, Groom, Groom/Rider, Rider, Part of a Team, Home Groom, Competition Groom, Other
  • Animals to bring to a job Locked
  • Describe the animal/s you HAVE to bring to the job (if applicable) Locked
  • Can drive Car
  • Own car? Car
  • Height 5’9” / 175cm
  • Approximate weight 10st / 63.5kg / 140lb
  • Total years experience with horses Locked
  • Previous paid/work experience Locked
  • Future disciplines Dealer, Dressage, Family Yard, Livery, Pony Club Activities, Riding for the Disabled (RDA), Rescue, Rehabilitation, Retail, Riding School, Sales, Showing, Show Jumping, Stud, Therapeutic Riding, Training Yard/Positions, Trekking, Western, Working Hunter
  • Riding Role? Locked
  • Nationality Irish
  • Languages spoken Locked
  • Qualifications Locked
  • Equine Skills Back/Break, Bandage, Exercise/Hack Out, Lunging, Maintenance Skills, Management Skills, Muck Out, Plait, Pull Mane/Tail, Ride, Rider/Trainer, School, Show Turnout, Supervisory Skills, Teach, Trim, Work Rider, Work with children
  • Non-Equine Skills Locked
  • Longest time in one job Locked
  • Position held in this job Locked
  • 2nd longest time in one job Locked
  • Position held in this job Locked
  • Upload your CV Locked
  • Current passport? Locked
  • DBS (formerly CRB) or equivalent Locked
  • Smoker? Locked
  • Video URL Locked
  • Image Uploads Locked

Experience with Horses

I have been lucky enough spend most my youth surrounded by horses. I began riding lessons at seven years old then transitioned into working at local livery and trekking yards to then owning my own cobs alongside this. During my early teens I began working on my trainers yard helping to back and break cobs under his supervision while living away from home, months at a time. Following my final year of secondary school I decided to go on and complete my Level Five in Equine Studies at college while completing my work experience module and continually volunteering at a therapeutic riding center which caters holistically for horses through reiki and meditation while also sitting in on and organizing sessions for disabled riders. I have worked on many yards from livery to acting as a stay away showjumping groom meaning I am well-rounded and fully confident alongside competent in daily chores such as mucking out, grooming, lunging, exercising and feeding.

 

 

Key Skills

I am an asset to those I work under as I adapt to many roles and willingly seek out additional training in order to obtain new skills. I can be placed working as part of a team or by myself and continuously maintain my standard of care. I enjoy dealing and working with people including clients as I actively engage in conversation. I can plait, bandage, plan exercise and feeding regimes, interact with fellow employees, make clients feel welcome, pull manes, handle young horses, improve a horses groundwork, jump and produce a fair test among other things as there’s nothing I won’t try my hand at and improve upon. I can also take a fall or two and when in doubt, hang on for dear life!

 

 

Strengths and Weaknesses

• When working with horses I enjoy getting to know their personalities and individual needs. I’m in my element when surrounded by these animals and instantly feel at home once the initial nerves subside from trying not to fall in the muck heap in front of new employers but if I do, I’m fully capable of laughing at myself along with the others who’ve witnessed it. I’m quick on my feet having broken a toe or two in the past so always analyse the safety of a situation before placing myself or anyone else including the horse at risk. I love the atmosphere of a yard and nothing beats the smell of horse poo and strong coffee in the morning.

 

• I’m obsessed with upskilling so jump at any chance to learn a new ability. I have clipped my own horse in the past but would love the opportunity to do others and become successful at it as I watch an alarming amount of videos on it when I forget to renew my Netflix account. I wish to compete in the future as I’ve never grown up with the opportunity to have a go so any training especially in dressage is a dream for me but I wont say no to being yelled at over some fences either.

 

• I truly believe any employer would be satisfied with my work ethic and determination should they choose to give me a chance to work for them. I have suffered in the past from the odd confidence knock as once does having been bought a pony unseen online for pennies but it only serves to fuel my passion for success and unbroken bones. My continuous thirst for learning means that should I start out at one position there is no limit to what else I can be trained up in on a yard. I meet my deadlines, improve the lives around me and welcome every possible chance to be around horses.I’m also not afraid to ask for help and will complete a task with the utmost care and efficiency that I can muster. I don’t stop just because my shift as ended, I simply begin researching things that have peaked my interest throughout the day once I return home to be even more adept the next day.

 

Requirements

• I would like a job that allows me the liberty to continue to grow and make use of my day off. I wish to obtain my coaching degree alongside other qualification and gain contacts so a position which allows me to interact with others involved within the community from farriers to vets is ideal from me especially if I’m given the opportunity to interact with them while they work and lend a hand. I want to improve my riding ability and also my training abilities for both horses and humans so working alongside a coach and/or a horse trainer on occasion would be ideal.

 

• As I am in Ireland I would need accommodation but this can be found outside of the position as I have my own transport and licence.

 

• I would love to bring my own cob with me to the UK if it was a possibility but would like to get to know my surroundings first before rushing him over in case the position did not suit my needs or his but as above this can be arranged off site as I have my own means by which to visit him.

 

• I do not have any ongoing commitments apart from an Acupressure one day course booked for September fifth in Galway, Ireland.

 

• I have no holidays booked but would like time off to travel home to see my horses and family.

 

Information

Caroline Carter Recruitment Ltd
The Stables
Fildyke Road
Meppershall
Bedfordshire
SG17 5LU

caroline@carolinecarterrecruitment.com
0203 006 5730 / 07747 686 118

Registered company number 10657796good site
Caroline Carter Recruitment Ltd is registered with the UK Information Commissioner as a data controller with registered number ZA250621

ENDORSED BY