fbpx
Call 0203 006 5730 / 07747 686118 or email info@carolinecarterrecruitment.com

International Dressage Rider 36 views

Ref: GL20950

Candidate contact details are only visible to employers with a current subscription
Subscribe

General Information

  • Age 27 years
  • Date of Birth 12th March 1993
  • Had previous paid employment within the equine industry? Locked
  • Preferred Countries United Kingdom
  • County/State/Region Anywhere
  • Job Category Flexible Hours, Freelance, Full Time, Part Time, Permanent
  • Earliest start date 27th June 2020
  • Freelance: Business Name Locked
  • Freelance: Hourly Rate Locked
  • Freelance: are you insured? Locked
  • Notice period No
  • Best time to call Locked
  • Working Couples: Partner's profile reference number Locked
  • Live in or out Live out
  • Co-habiting? Locked
  • Full Postcode if live out (Private) Locked
  • Expected Job Level Rider, Manager, Riding Instructor
  • Animals to bring to a job Locked
  • Describe the animal/s you HAVE to bring to the job (if applicable) Locked
  • Can drive Car, Trailer
  • Own car? Car
  • Height 5”6’ / 167cm
  • Approximate weight 9st / 57.2kg / 126lb
  • Total years experience with horses Locked
  • Previous paid/work experience Locked
  • Future disciplines Dealer, Dressage, Family Yard, Rehabilitation, Retail, Sales, Training Yard/Positions
  • Riding Role? Locked
  • Nationality British, Australian
  • Languages spoken Locked
  • Qualifications Locked
  • Equine Skills Bandage, Clip, Compete, Exercise/Hack Out, Long Rein, Lunging, Maintenance Skills, Management Skills, Plait, Pull Mane/Tail, Ride, Rider/Trainer, Sales Preparation, School, Show Turnout, Teach, Trim, Veterinary Experience, Work Rider, Work with children
  • Non-Equine Skills Locked
  • Longest time in one job Locked
  • Position held in this job Locked
  • 2nd longest time in one job Locked
  • Position held in this job Locked
  • Upload your CV Locked
  • Current passport? Locked
  • DBS (formerly CRB) or equivalent Locked
  • Smoker? Locked
  • Video URL Locked
  • Image Uploads Locked

Experience with Horses

I am an International Dressage Rider recently finished with a 4-year full-time degree to become a Veterinary Physiotherapist. I have competed three horses at international Small Tour level during full-time study, with scores often at 67% or above nationally. I have trained with many top riders and judges; Marc Boblet (GP-rider, FRA), Catherine Haddad-Staller (GP-rider, USA), Barnabas Mandi (5* Olympic judge, HUN) and now consistently with Gareth Hughes (GP-rider, GBR). As a result I have a clear impression of Classical training principles which I adhere to with all horses.

Previously I have worked in international Dressage stables over 4 years in Germany, during which time I competed as a Young rider and built experience riding other horses and teaching (in German and English).

I am searching for a job working with horses preferable in a riding/training capacity, with the future potential to become a Veterinary Physiotherapist for these horses (pending graduation from my 4-year BSc course). I also love teaching riders and therefore would enjoy this possibility alongside my riding.

 

Competed at (and qualified for):

French National Championships, Australian National Championships, British Regional Championships, International Pony competitions, International Young Rider competitions, International Senior competitions and BUCS university competitions.

Key Skills

I have experience working in teams in stables and at university, and can effectively work on my own with motivation. I clip, plait and turn out my own horses for shows, and drive them there in my trailer alone. I am independent and can function as effectively alone as with help. COVID depending I am working to get my HGV licence this year, and I have my own lorry.

I have some experience with young horses, though not commonly freshly-backed horses, and limited experience with stallions. I am soon to be a fully-qualified Veterinary Physiotherapist (COVID-dependent), and therefore have a deep understanding and appreciation of horse movement and rehabilitation which is a key asset of mine.

I am fluent in English (mother tongue), French and German, and I have an understanding of Spanish.

I weigh approximately 9st and measure 5’5ish.

I have ridden ponies and horses of 13hh to 17hh comfortably.

I have competed internationally and nationally as a Pony rider, Young rider and Senior small tour rider at competitions all over Europe. During my Young Rider training I was working in a Professional Dressage stable in Germany and played a role in the management and care of top horses, alongside my own.

Strengths and Weaknesses

I enjoy the routine of training horses, and the way that they thrive as a result of good management and training. A strength of mine, and one of my favourite moments to feel is when a horse becomes more supple and elastic in their movement as a result of dedicated training. Further to this, when horses and riders become playful and confident in exercises that once made their blood run cold is a true joy for me.

On a personal level I want to improve my self-confidence. I have a unique skill set and a lot of experience, but I have only been able to offer half-power to the horses recently as a result of studying, and as a result I struggle to sell myself and encourage other people to realise how much of an asset I could be to a team. Further to this, I want to expand my equine CV of training a variety of horses (age, training level, goal etc.), as I believe true riders are able to improve an “average” horse to a good one, and a good one to a great one, and I dream of being such a rider.

 

I should be considered as the strongest candidate as I have wanted to be a professional rider since the day I realised it was a possible career. I have since taken some steps towards that direction in the form of training, trainers, horses and work, as well as some side-steps to ensure a variety of skills, and increasing my repertoire (namely becoming a Veterinary Physiotherapist). I am motivated, passionate and have a pure love for horses that runs deep. I have worked hard since my first pony to hone my skill-set, and provide me with knowledge of high-level dressage movements and exercises, which means I am able to teach younger and inexperienced horses a lot as they move up the levels. I take pride in training in the format of classical principles with added understanding of biomechanics and rehabilitation of horses as a result of my Veterinary Physiotherapy degree.

I have two international small tour horses, I am soon to graduate as a Veterinary Physiotherapist, and I have over 10 years of international competition experience; very few candidates have even one of these three and that makes me a strong addition to a team.

Requirements

• What would you like to do or gain in your next job?

I would love to be working with a variety of horses, teaching them the next level above their current knowledge. My dream is to compete regularly and internationally, but more importantly to improve horses from average, to good, to great.

• Do you need accommodation?

No

• Do you have any special requirements for any animals you wish to bring with you?

If I can bring 2 horses that would be a bonus however not essential

• Do you have any ongoing commitments?

I have 2 Small Tour soon Grand Prix horses that I want to compete and keep in training, as well as a freshly backed 3 year old. If I can keep them with me and include them in my schedule that would be a bonus but I can be flexible.

• Do you have any holidays booked that an employer needs to know of?

2 weeks at the end of August, and one week in September

Information

Caroline Carter Recruitment Ltd
The Stables
Fildyke Road
Meppershall
Bedfordshire
SG17 5LU

caroline@carolinecarterrecruitment.com
0203 006 5730 / 07747 686 118

Registered company number 10657796good site
Caroline Carter Recruitment Ltd is registered with the UK Information Commissioner as a data controller with registered number ZA250621

ENDORSED BY