fbpx
Call 0203 006 5730 / 07747 686118 or email info@carolinecarterrecruitment.com

Professional Groom with experience in competition, rehabilitation, ex-race horses 15 views

Ref: GL20976

Candidate contact details are only visible to employers with a current subscription
Subscribe

General Information

  • Age 22 years
  • Date of Birth 9th January 1998
  • Preferred Countries United Kingdom
  • County/State/Region Surrey, UK
  • Job Category Flexible Hours, Full Time, Part Time
  • Earliest start date 1st July 2020
  • Freelance: Business Name Locked
  • Freelance: Hourly Rate Locked
  • Freelance: are you insured? Locked
  • Notice period N/A
  • Best time to call Locked
  • Working Couples: Partner's profile reference number Locked
  • Live in or out Live out
  • Co-habiting? Locked
  • Full Postcode if live out (Private) Locked
  • Expected Job Level Groom/Rider, Part of a Team, Home Groom, Competition Groom
  • Animals to bring to a job Locked
  • Describe the animal/s you HAVE to bring to the job (if applicable) Locked
  • Can drive Car
  • Own car? Car
  • Height 5”6’ / 167cm
  • Approximate weight 8.5st / 54kg / 119lb
  • Total years experience with horses Locked
  • Previous paid/work experience Locked
  • Future disciplines Dressage, Eventing, Rescue, Rehabilitation, Sales, Show Jumping, Training Yard/Positions
  • Riding Role? Locked
  • Nationality British
  • Languages spoken Locked
  • Qualifications Locked
  • Equine Skills Back/Break, Bandage, Clip, Compete, Equine First Aid, Exercise/Hack Out, Foaling/Foal Watch, Long Rein, Lunging, Maintenance Skills, Management Skills, Muck Out, Plait, Pull Mane/Tail, Ride, Rider/Trainer, Sales Preparation, School, Show Turnout, Stallion Handling, Supervisory Skills, Teach, Trim, Work Rider, Work with children, Young Stock Handler
  • Non-Equine Skills Locked
  • Longest time in one job Locked
  • Position held in this job Locked
  • 2nd longest time in one job Locked
  • Position held in this job Locked
  • Upload your CV Locked
  • Current passport? Locked
  • DBS (formerly CRB) or equivalent Locked
  • Smoker? Locked
  • Video URL Locked
  • Image Uploads Locked

Experience with Horses

I have 12 years of experience working with horses both independently, professionally and competitively. I initially volunteered in several stables including a rescue centre where I worked with orphaned foals, horses that had been previously abused and horses sent in to be backed and brought on. After 5 years of this I began recruiting my own clients independently which involved re-backing or re-schooling horses for sales livery, teaching children to ride on my own horses alongside my studies, and competing horses for clients. I have recently worked as a professional groom for a Grand Prix dressage rider; this involved caring for and managing the routines of 10 top-level horses.

Between 2014-2017 I worked alongside an accredited saddle fitter and equine physiotherapist, thus I have knowledge in rehabilitative mechanisms and how to identify and correct a poorly fitting saddle. I have a BSc in Sport and Exercise Science and through my own research I have a good knowledge in equine anatomy and movement dynamics.

Additionally, I have owned and competed my own TB x WB up to foxhunter level in show jumping, and to elementary level dressage.

 

 

Key Skills

My calming and patient persona allows me to be effective in handling young or nervous horses; working in rescue centres has given me a great deal of experience with building trust with nervous and green horses. I am confident and capable in handling more difficult horses, in my previous role I would turn out, handle and train stallions daily.  Alongside my education I took on 2 horses and one pony of my own which I re-schooled, taught to jump and sold on to loving homes.

 

 

Strengths and Weaknesses

•  I love to see results in the horses that I work with, whether this means seeing them comfortable and happy in their stable after mucking out and feeding or whether this is in competition. I love working with horses because of their loyalty, kindness and willingness to learn which Ii love to be a part of.

• Upon graduating university, I would now like the opportunity to work full time in a field that I am most passionate and dedicated to.

• I look forward to being able to help riders and owners in delivering the best care for their animals, as I know there is nothing more you would wish for as a horse owner. I can build a trusting relationship with both the horse and the owner and become part of their team by playing a crucial role within the horses success.

 

Requirements

• I would like to gain experience working full time rather than part time alongside studying, I am hoping for a role whereby I am able to assist in the general exercising of the horse although this is not essential.

 

• I am open to on-site accommodation although this is not essential.

 

• I currently do not own my own horse that would need to be brought with me to the yard.

 

• I will be completing my MSc part time in Medicine and Rehabilitation in the evenings and on my days off.

 

• Do you have any holidays booked that an employer needs to know of? No

 

Information

Caroline Carter Recruitment Ltd
The Stables
Fildyke Road
Meppershall
Bedfordshire
SG17 5LU

caroline@carolinecarterrecruitment.com
0203 006 5730 / 07747 686 118

Registered company number 10657796good site
Caroline Carter Recruitment Ltd is registered with the UK Information Commissioner as a data controller with registered number ZA250621

ENDORSED BY