fbpx
Call 0203 006 5730 / 07747 686118 or email info@carolinecarterrecruitment.com

Groom 41 views

Ref: GL10727

Candidate contact details are only visible to employers with a current subscription
Subscribe

General Information

  • Age 20 years
  • Date of Birth 14th January 2000
  • Had previous paid employment within the equine industry? Locked
  • Preferred Countries United Kingdom, The EU, Europe, United Arab Emirates
  • County/State/Region Anywhere
  • Job Category Full Time
  • Earliest start date 7th August 2020
  • Freelance: Business Name Locked
  • Freelance: Hourly Rate Locked
  • Freelance: are you insured? Locked
  • Best time to call Locked
  • Working Couples: Partner's profile reference number Locked
  • Live in or out Live out
  • Co-habiting? Locked
  • Full Postcode if live out (Private) Locked
  • Expected Job Level Groom, Groom/Rider, Rider, Part of a Team
  • Animals to bring to a job Locked
  • Describe the animal/s you HAVE to bring to the job (if applicable) Locked
  • Can drive Car
  • Own car? Car
  • Height 5’0” / 152cm
  • Approximate weight 10st / 63.5kg / 140lb
  • Total years experience with horses Locked
  • Previous paid/work experience Locked
  • Future disciplines Eventing, Family Yard, Hunting, Livery, P2P, Sales, Show Jumping
  • Riding Role? Locked
  • Nationality British
  • Languages spoken Locked
  • Qualifications Locked
  • Equine Skills Bandage, Clip, Exercise/Hack Out, Lunging, Maintenance Skills, Muck Out, Plait, Pull Mane/Tail, Ride, School, Trim, Veterinary Experience
  • Non-Equine Skills Locked
  • Longest time in one job Locked
  • Position held in this job Locked
  • 2nd longest time in one job Locked
  • Position held in this job Locked
  • Upload your CV Locked
  • Current passport? Locked
  • DBS (formerly CRB) or equivalent Locked
  • Smoker? Locked
  • Video URL Locked
  • Image Uploads Locked

Experience with Horses

I have owned my own horses for over 10 years.

National Hunt yard ( & showjumpers) – Home Farm Racing. (2017-2018)

My responsibilities included
Mucking out, tidying muck heap and yard area
Putting horses on the walker/treadmill and lunging
Exercising the horses (on the gallops/schooling over fences, hacking out)
Grooming, clipping.
Tack cleaning
Getting the lorry ready/cleaning out after races/shows
Poo picking, fence repairs, cleaning water troughs and drinkers
Filling haynets, making up feeds, tidying hay barn
Worming/ giving medication
Handling foals and young horses
Weeding/ general gardening around the yard to keep tidy
Turning out and bringing in showjumpers
Sweep out the walker/ clean down the treadmills daily.
Put stable bandages on.
Skip out the stables throughout the day.

P2P yard – (2018-2019)

At the P2P yard we all mucked out together. Took off stable bandages. Quickly and to a high standard. Any muck chucked into the middle of the yard (no wheelbarrows) the tractor would then come through the yard and push the muck into the muck heap at the other end of the barn and bring back a bale of straw
I would then put straw and hay into the stables and bed down on my own whilst the others tacked up and took the horses down the gallops.
In the time they were down the gallops I would bed down the horses and collect hot water in buckets for the horses to be washed down.

My other duties included:
Put on/bring off the walker
Hold horses to be washed down/ wash them down myself.
Clean tack and tidy the tack room.
Ensure all bandages and pads washed and hung to dry for the following day.
Use a leaf blower to blow the muck down to the muck heap (sweep outside if it was wet)
Tidy up the hay/straw barn.
Ensure all pens with horses in have water, hay and clean straw.
Turn horses out/bring them in.
Clean out and hose down the lorry.
Skip out and tidy the stables throughout the morning.
Speak to the owners when they came to visit their horses.
Tidy the drive and around the barn.
Poo pick
Feed the horses.
I would cover some afternoons if other people were sick/ it was their day off.

Mel Packer Equine Vet – Work Experience (2016)
I organised my college placement myself and went to work with my personal vet.
In my work placement I helped with the following
Office paperwork and tidying stock room
Assisting with X-rays and scans
Vaccinations, blood tests
Assisting with a bone marrow procedure and an eye removal
Worm counts and delivering wormers to clients
Cold hosing
Teeth
Trotting up for lameness
Handling young/bolshy horses.
Removing wolf teeth.

Animal Welfare & Nursing Diploma
I attended college for a year and have a good knowledge of general first aid and administering medication.
I have handled and cared for a range of animals (reptiles, amphibians, birds, mammals, fish and invertebrates).

Strengths and Weaknesses

I can clip, trim, pull and plait to an ok standard – however I know that there’s room for improvement with my clipping and plaiting. I can work both solely and as a team. I am happy to get on and ride anything but sometimes I lack confidence with my riding but I’m always willing to better myself.
I pay attention to detail and I’m hard working.
I love horses and I have a passion to learn new things.

I have worked for Eddie Stobart and a Recruitment agency so I have strong computer skills (Microsoft word) if ever required.

Requirements

In my next job I would like to find a job where I feel part of the team and want to stay for the foreseeable future.
Accommodation not required if In driving distance.
I have no ongoing commitments
No holidays booked

Information

Caroline Carter Recruitment Ltd
The Stables
Fildyke Road
Meppershall
Bedfordshire
SG17 5LU

caroline@carolinecarterrecruitment.com
0203 006 5730 / 07747 686 118

Registered company number 10657796good site
Caroline Carter Recruitment Ltd is registered with the UK Information Commissioner as a data controller with registered number ZA250621

ENDORSED BY