fbpx
Call 0203 006 5730 / 07747 686118 or email info@carolinecarterrecruitment.com

Groom / Rider 47 views

Ref: GL20531

Candidate contact details are only visible to employers with a current subscription
Subscribe

General Information

  • Age 28 years
  • Date of Birth 22nd August 1992
  • Had previous paid employment within the equine industry? Locked
  • Preferred Countries United Kingdom
  • County/State/Region Anywhere
  • Job Category Full Time, Part Time, Permanent, Short Term (Temporary)
  • Earliest start date 12th October 2020
  • Availability if Freelance/Short Term From Oct 2020
  • Freelance: Business Name Locked
  • Freelance: Hourly Rate Locked
  • Freelance: are you insured? Locked
  • Notice period N/A
  • Best time to call Locked
  • Working Couples: Partner's profile reference number Locked
  • Live in or out Live in, Live out
  • Co-habiting? Locked
  • Full Postcode if live out (Private) Locked
  • Expected Job Level Groom, Groom/Rider, Rider, Part of a Team, Home Groom, Competition Groom, Admin/Office-based
  • Animals to bring to a job Locked
  • Describe the animal/s you HAVE to bring to the job (if applicable) Locked
  • Can drive Car
  • Own car? Car
  • Height 5’7” / 170cm
  • Approximate weight 12st / 76.2kg / 168lb
  • Total years experience with horses Locked
  • Previous paid/work experience Locked
  • Future disciplines Dressage, Family Yard, Livery, Polo, Riding for the Disabled (RDA), Reining, Rescue, Rehabilitation, Retail, Riding School, Showing, Show Jumping, Stud, Therapeutic Riding, Training Yard/Positions, Trekking, Western, Working Hunter
  • Riding Role? Locked
  • Nationality British
  • Languages spoken Locked
  • Qualifications Locked
  • Equine Skills Bandage, Compete, Equine First Aid, Exercise/Hack Out, Long Rein, Lunging, Maintenance Skills, Muck Out, Plait, Pull Mane/Tail, Ride, Rider/Trainer, School, Show Turnout, Stallion Handling, Teach, Trim, Work Rider, Work with children
  • Non-Equine Skills Locked
  • Longest time in one job Locked
  • Position held in this job Locked
  • 2nd longest time in one job Locked
  • Position held in this job Locked
  • Upload your CV Locked
  • Current passport? Locked
  • DBS (formerly CRB) or equivalent Locked
  • Smoker? Locked
  • Video URL Locked
  • Image Uploads Locked

Experience with Horses
Horses are one of my biggest passions in life. I have been riding and around horses from the age of three, I have owned horses for around 20 years. I spent much of my childhood and teenage years competing to a high level in Working Hunter and showing classes across the UK. I went to study and work in the world of art, photography, and journalism in London but after a time, I began to crave more time with my animals at home in the countryside. I moved back to Norfolk where I started my art and photography business and by doing this, I had more time to dedicate to my equestrian passion. I gained a position as a groom for 6 months at GWC Equestrian Center, livery yard and feed store where I thrived doing something that I loved. I worked as part of a small team with some sole charge, caring for 10 to 15 horses varying in type, size, age and temperament. Yard duties included turning out to pasture, mucking out, feeding, administering medication, grooming, exercising horses for clients including schooling, long reining, lunging, hacking and jumping, assisting in the backing of horses, helping to organise and host events, serving the public in the busy on-site feed store and advising on nutritional queries. I then travelled to New Zealand for a working holiday where I worked as a Data Administration Floor Supervisor at the largest post-harvest operation for kiwi fruit in the world. Now I am back in the UK, I wish to continue to grow in the equine industry.

Key Skills
What are you particularly good at?
Turning out for shows and competitions, handling/riding a range of horses including youngsters, good balance and soft hands,  a calm seat and handling manner, schooling, long reining, lunging, jumping, assisting in the backing of horses, working alone/sole charge and working with others as part of a team.
Non-equine skills include photography, picture editing, sales, data admin, leadership, Mac & Microsoft OS, communication.

Strengths and Weaknesses
• What do you most enjoy about working with horses?
I get so much out of working with horses. I enjoy earning a horse’s trust, understanding their personalities and trying to get the best out of them on the ground and onboard. They give me a lot of happiness so I enjoy giving them love and care back. I also love being outdoors and the physical challenges that come with the job. I find the combination of the outdoor lifestyle and working with horses extremely fulfilling and rewarding.

• Is there anything you’d like to improve?
I would really like to broaden my knowledge of breaking and backing and I also have a keen interest in rehabilitation so a chance to grow in this area would be excellent. I am a keen learner and I would like to build on my knowledge of nutrition. I have experience working in an animal feed store and advising customers on products but I would really like to learn as much as I can because I find it very interesting.

• Why should employers consider you above any other jobseeker?
Above everything else, I am professional and I am very proud of my committed and driven work ethic, caring attention to detail, positive attitude and hunger to learn. I have a confident and calm approach to my work. I have also been a photographer for a long time so I can offer equestrian photography as part of my skill set.

Requirements
• What would you like to do or gain in your next job?
Ideally, I would like to work for a professional rider/team with top quality horses. I am enthusiastic about the equine industry as a whole but my main interests are in rehabilitation, working with young horses and competition horses. I would like to find a job that will help me to grow in the industry and I would jump at the opportunity to gain some equine qualifications.

• Do you need accommodation?
Not necessarily. I live with my partner so if a job came with accommodation that we could both use than that would be great but I am also happy to live out. We are happy to relocate.

• Do you have any special requirements for any animals you wish to bring with you?
No

• Do you have any ongoing commitments?
No

• Do you have any holidays booked that an employer needs to know of?
5th April 2021 for two weeks – to be confirmed.

Information

Caroline Carter Recruitment Ltd
The Stables
Fildyke Road
Meppershall
Bedfordshire
SG17 5LU

caroline@carolinecarterrecruitment.com
0203 006 5730 / 07747 686 118

Registered company number 10657796good site
Caroline Carter Recruitment Ltd is registered with the UK Information Commissioner as a data controller with registered number ZA250621

ENDORSED BY