fbpx
Call 0203 006 5730 / 07747 686118 or email info@carolinecarterrecruitment.com

Rider/groom 15 views

Ref: GL21637

Candidate contact details are only visible to employers with a current subscription
Subscribe

General Information

  • Age 16 years
  • Date of Birth 24th February 2004
  • Had previous paid employment within the equine industry? Locked
  • Preferred Countries United Kingdom
  • County/State/Region Northamptonshire, UK
  • Job Category Flexible Hours, Part Time
  • Earliest start date 27th September 2020
  • Freelance: Business Name Locked
  • Freelance: Hourly Rate Locked
  • Freelance: are you insured? Locked
  • Notice period 1 month
  • Best time to call Locked
  • Working Couples: Partner's profile reference number Locked
  • Live in or out Live out
  • Co-habiting? Locked
  • Full Postcode if live out (Private) Locked
  • Expected Job Level Groom/Rider
  • Animals to bring to a job Locked
  • Describe the animal/s you HAVE to bring to the job (if applicable) Locked
  • Can drive None
  • Own car? None
  • Height 5”6’ / 167cm
  • Approximate weight 9st / 57.2kg / 126lb
  • Total years experience with horses Locked
  • Previous paid/work experience Locked
  • Future disciplines Eventing, Show Jumping
  • Riding Role? Locked
  • Nationality British
  • Languages spoken Locked
  • Qualifications Locked
  • Equine Skills Bandage, Clip, Compete, Exercise/Hack Out, Lunging, Maintenance Skills, Muck Out, Plait, Pull Mane/Tail, Ride, School, Show Turnout, Trim, Work Rider, Work with children
  • Non-Equine Skills Locked
  • Longest time in one job Locked
  • Position held in this job Locked
  • 2nd longest time in one job Locked
  • Position held in this job Locked
  • Upload your CV Locked
  • Current passport? Locked
  • DBS (formerly CRB) or equivalent Locked
  • Smoker? Locked
  • Video URL Locked
  • Image Uploads Locked

Experience with Horses

I currently own and compete my 21year old tbxid at 80cm and we love eventing and showjumping and ive had her coming up to 5 years now, i have been a groom for a friend for a few years so i know all the basics but im really looking for a job that includes riding to gain more experience with other horses as i dont really ride any other horses than my own. Ive worked in a riding school for 2 years on a Saturday but im looking for a job that i can do sat,sun and mon. During the week too but i would like to still see me horse 5 times a week to ride and keep her fit for eventing and showjumping as we compete regularly. I also attend college but i have a very spacious time table because of covid so i’m not there any longer than 3-4 hours.

Key skills

i am very capable of being left alone to just get on with the tasks set for me as i love being with my own horse independently. I can muck out and make a nice fluffy bed with straw or lovely banks with shavings, I’m good at clipping horses, we clip Elka with a blanket clip and i clip an E on to her bum on without a stencil, i can put studs in myself and tap out the shoes for the studs, i haven’t really worked with young or naughty horses as my horse is a complete angel but i know what to do if a horse is rearing on the lead rope or bucking while being ridden. When i first got elka she would rush into fences leaving my 12year old self hanging on for dear life, she now waits for my say and goes into fences with rhythm and a soft mouth with no pulling or fighting to go quicker, i was very patient and its taken me nearly 3 years to get her to where i want, which shows im very dedicated and will give as much time as its needed for a horse to get to where they need to be. Im a very soft handed rider and im very loving with horses as i know they need a lot of love when owning them to get that greater bond. My dressage slills are coming along nicely with being able to keep elka in a contact. Showjumping i am very confident as i love it, my lines to fences really help my horse and my confidence into them lets her fly over huge fences shes not confident with, elka is obsessed with xc but still needs to feel the confidence through me to get around clear, so i ride into fences sat up with my leg on moving my body with their strides and giving a little tap if i feel them backing off or slowing up. If you would like to see how i ride head over to my Instagram @elkabymoonlight.

 

 

Strengths and Weaknesses

• i love just being around them and riding them, the best part is achieving something that you’ve worked hard for ( ive got my first BE on the 2nd october 2020) ive been working for this for 5 years

• id love to improve my riding skills, hence why i want a job to do with riding, if i get a job where im not wanted to ride i wont complain because i can improve my ground skills with them:)

• im a kind hearted person who just loves to be around horses and do any jobs that is asked of me, even if im shattered and my feet hurt from walking ill still keep going till all the task are done!

Requirements

• id love to develop my riding skills and my care skills with horses, riding other horses will benefit me so much and even if its a non riding job id still be so happy to work with them on the ground:)

 

• i dont want a job to far away as i do have my own horse to look after and college to attend so i wont need accommodation but it needs to be driving distance so i can either get a bus or pay my parents to take me.

• i have two cairn terriers, one who loves hunting for rats, and one who will run to you if he hears a wrapper so he might not be yard helpful, my other cairn who’s a girl loves to hunt rats and caught 3 in one day in a short period of time she shes very yard helpful and careful around the feet of the horses. I wouldn’t bring my horse to my job unless asked by the owner/manager/employer.

 

• my only commitments are keeping my horse fit, so riding around 5 times a week and college during the week tuesday-friday

 

• Rarely go abroad on holiday or even go on holiday at all, so im always around for extra hours of work 🙂

 

Information

Caroline Carter Recruitment Ltd
The Stables
Fildyke Road
Meppershall
Bedfordshire
SG17 5LU

caroline@carolinecarterrecruitment.com
0203 006 5730 / 07747 686 118

Registered company number 10657796good site
Caroline Carter Recruitment Ltd is registered with the UK Information Commissioner as a data controller with registered number ZA250621

ENDORSED BY