fbpx
Call 0203 006 5730 / 07747 686118 or email info@carolinecarterrecruitment.com

Stud hand/assistant manager/groom/sessonal 11 views

Ref: GL18673

Candidate contact details are only visible to employers with a current subscription
Subscribe

General Information

  • Age 24 years
  • Date of Birth 6th March 1996
  • Had previous paid employment within the equine industry? Locked
  • Preferred Countries Other
  • County/State/Region Anywhere
  • Job Category Full Time, Seasonal, Short Term (Temporary)
  • Earliest start date 4th January 2021
  • Freelance: Business Name Locked
  • Freelance: Hourly Rate Locked
  • Freelance: are you insured? Locked
  • Notice period NA
  • Best time to call Locked
  • Working Couples: Partner's profile reference number Locked
  • Live in or out Live in
  • Co-habiting? Locked
  • Full Postcode if live out (Private) Locked
  • Expected Job Level Groom, Sole Charge, Head Person, Stud Hand
  • Animals to bring to a job Locked
  • Describe the animal/s you HAVE to bring to the job (if applicable) Locked
  • Can drive Car
  • Own car? Car
  • Height 5’8” / 172cm
  • Approximate weight 13st / 82.6kg / 182lb
  • Total years experience with horses Locked
  • Previous paid/work experience Locked
  • Future disciplines Foaling, Rehabilitation, Stud, Therapeutic Riding, Trekking, Western
  • Riding Role? Locked
  • Nationality British
  • Languages spoken Locked
  • Qualifications Locked
  • Equine Skills Bandage, Broodmares, Equine First Aid, Exercise/Hack Out, Foaling/Foal Watch, Lunging, Maintenance Skills, Management Skills, Muck Out, Pull Mane/Tail, Sales Preparation, Sole charge, Supervisory Skills, Work with children
  • Non-Equine Skills Locked
  • Longest time in one job Locked
  • Position held in this job Locked
  • 2nd longest time in one job Locked
  • Position held in this job Locked
  • Upload your CV Locked
  • Current passport? Locked
  • DBS (formerly CRB) or equivalent Locked
  • Smoker? Locked
  • Video URL Locked
  • Image Uploads Locked

Experience with Horses

I have just finished working two years as a Stud Hand on a small boutique TB flat stud farm in the North Cotswolds UK

I have a degree in in equine Sciance BSc from the Royal Agricultural University

I completed the Breeding And Stud Managment Course at the National Stud in Newmarket.

I have completed my BHS stage one and two so can ride confidently to this level (flat and jumping)

I am currently Studying for Equine Sports Massage qualification under the College of animal physiotherapy due to complete Autumn 2021.

Right now I am living in Holland woking part time in child care while I plan my next move. I currently look after two girls ages 7 and 9 and they are an absolute delight! I pick them up from school go to the park with them make them dinner etc. The family also have a 10 month old English pointer that I have grown incredibly fond of, I take her to the beach and walks through the park. when the family go away for the weekend I will look after her then too. I love working with children of all ages and had I not gone down the path of an equine degree I think I would have persued a career in child care.

Key Skills

List of general horsemanship  skills below:

  • Feeding
  • Mucking out (shavings and straw)
  • Prepping horses for yearling sales (grooming, clipping, pulling, washing, platting, picking out feet etc.)
  • Lunging yearlings for sales prep (basic lunging with roller and sometimes side reins)
  • Bringing horses to and from the walker/putting horses out in the field
  • Putting horses on and starting the walker
  • Cleaning walker
  • Jet washing stables
  • Poop picking fields
  • Cleaning water buckets inside and in fields
  • Cleaned tack (sales headcollar and some exercise saddles and bridals)
  • Helped pack the horse box for traveling to the sales (following a check list and making sure everything is included the night before)
  • Harrowing sand school with quad bike
  • Holding horses for farrier
  • Assisting with vet visits (holding and moving X rays slides, foal injections etc.)
  •  Administer intramuscular injection
  • Fixing fences and MANY miles of Creosoting (painting fences)

All things to do with breading mares and foaling:

  • Foaling
  • Packing foaling box
  • Taking mare and foal temp
  • Know signs of colic in a foal
  • Know how to deal with rotavirus in foals
  • Can spot signs of a healthy and unhealthy foal
  • Can lead mare and foal out to paddock
  • Can lead mare and foal into stocks

(I could go on but I think iv got most of it across ha ha if there is anything specific you would like to know about please feel free to ask)

Keeping the yard tidy was a top priority at my previous place of work to do this we used a “Billy goat” to hoover up straw, we also pulled weeds, hovered and mopped office floors, cleaned toilets on a rotation, kept office kitchen clean. So am familiar with the duster;)

With regards to my riding ability, my previous job did not offer much riding, I was aloud to take my bosses retired National Hunt horse out hacking around the farm he loved blowing off steam with a gallop across the field and could be a bit awkward sometimes but for the most part was lovely. I rode throughout my two years of university,  I rode mostly riding school horses at university and haven’t had the opportunity to jump or do any X country recently but also received lessons for this while at university.

Strengths and Weaknesses

  • What do you most enjoy about working with horses?

I absolutely love working with mares and foals. I think foaling is the most magical time of year!

  •  Is there anything you’d like to improve?

I would love to improve on my riding, working mostly on stud farms I haven’t really had the opportunity to ride as much as I would have liked so a job that would offer that one day would be lovely. I would also like to continue my work with mares and foals I feel working on a small farm I have been offer the hands on experience but am lacking in the numbers department when it comes to foaling.

  • Why should employers consider you above any other job seeker?

I am a kind, positive team player who truly has the horses best interest with everything I do. I love working in the equine industry as it allows me to live a life style no other job could ever offer. Im hard working and always aim to please!

Requirements

What would you like to do or gain in your next job? 

I am really open to anything at the moment a seasonal position doing night watches for foaling would be ideal but I’m not only looking specifically for that.

Do you need accommodation?

As I am currently looking to do seasonal work housing would be great!

• Do you have any special requirements for any animals you wish to bring with you?

Nope:)

• Do you have any ongoing commitments?

Nope:)

• Do you have any holidays booked that an employer needs to know of?

I am looking to go back to Hong Kong to see family before the end of 2020.

Information

Caroline Carter Recruitment Ltd
The Stables
Fildyke Road
Meppershall
Bedfordshire
SG17 5LU

caroline@carolinecarterrecruitment.com
0203 006 5730 / 07747 686 118

Registered company number 10657796good site
Caroline Carter Recruitment Ltd is registered with the UK Information Commissioner as a data controller with registered number ZA250621

ENDORSED BY