fbpx
Call 0203 006 5730 / 07747 686118 or email info@carolinecarterrecruitment.com

Groom 29 views

Ref: GL21865

Candidate contact details are only visible to employers with a current subscription
Subscribe

General Information

  • Age 64 years
  • Date of Birth 21st November 1956
  • Had previous paid employment within the equine industry? Locked
  • Preferred Countries United Kingdom
  • County/State/Region Surrey, UK
  • Job Category Part Time
  • Earliest start date 7th December 2020
  • Freelance: Business Name Locked
  • Freelance: Hourly Rate Locked
  • Freelance: are you insured? Locked
  • Notice period none
  • Best time to call Locked
  • Working Couples: Partner's profile reference number Locked
  • Live in or out Live out
  • Co-habiting? Locked
  • Full Postcode if live out (Private) Locked
  • Expected Job Level Groom
  • Animals to bring to a job Locked
  • Describe the animal/s you HAVE to bring to the job (if applicable) Locked
  • Can drive Car, Trailer, 3.5t
  • Own car? Car
  • Height 5’5” / 165cm
  • Approximate weight 9.5st / 60.3kg / 133lb
  • Total years experience with horses Locked
  • Previous paid/work experience Locked
  • Future disciplines Dressage, Endurance, Foaling, Livery, Rescue, Rehabilitation, Stud
  • Riding Role? Locked
  • Nationality British
  • Languages spoken Locked
  • Qualifications Locked
  • Equine Skills Bandage, Equine First Aid, Long Rein, Lunging, Management Skills, Muck Out, Plait, Pull Mane/Tail, Show Turnout, Trim, Work with children, Young Stock Handler
  • Non-Equine Skills Locked
  • Longest time in one job Locked
  • Position held in this job Locked
  • 2nd longest time in one job Locked
  • Position held in this job Locked
  • Upload your CV Locked
  • Current passport? Locked
  • DBS (formerly CRB) or equivalent Locked
  • Smoker? Locked
  • Video URL Locked
  • Image Uploads Locked

Experience with Horses

Outline your experience with horses here/the scope of your freelance services. If you’re looking for a non-equine or non- yard-based job please use this space to describe your experience skills/abilities and adapt the questions to suit your line of work.

Previously I have worked at a livery yard where the owner and clients were involved in various pursuits, showing, dressage, hunting and endurance. A dealers yard producing and selling in the main Irish horses. A riding school with specialist section for disabled riders.  Two pony studs and a racing yard.

I can muck out and maintain a yard to a high standard.

Set up feeding and hay programmes for different types of horse in varying work or rest/rehabilitation. Monitoring the horses in order to update the programme accordingly.

Identify illness, lameness in horses and make  appropriate decision whether to call the vet or treat in house.  Recording and following through with treatment, caring for the horse until recovery.  I have experience of and can implement isolation procedures  for working with infectious diseases such as flu and strangles.

I can turn out and bring in horses with their correct attire on and safely.  Checking and maintaining the fields.

Clean tack to be soft for the horse whilst running a safety check of all stitching, stirrup leathers etc. Correctly fit bridles, bits, boots, bandages and saddles to be comfortable for the horse.

Working with foals to breaking in age and onward further schooling.

With my teaching I explain the horse, how sensitive he is, how his body moves and reacts then, how they can communicate with him.

I do show preparation, prior to the day training, trimming, plaiting and bathing.

Key Skills

What are you particularly good at? For example: working alone, working with others, clipping, plaiting, turning out for shows, handling stallions, handling/riding young horses, non-equine skills etc

My previous employer complimented me saying I was her only member of staff she could place anywhere and know a good job would be done.

I get great satisfaction from keeping a yard clean and tidy with comfortable beds for the horses. My manner working with horses is confident and calm, I like to gain the trust of the horses in my care and know that they feel secure, happy and content.

My passion is dressage, this stems  from a love of communicating with horses. I especially enjoy and am good at handling and developing youngstock.

I believe myself to be a good team member and communicator but am also able to work on my own organising my workload to get everything done. I am friendly, loyal, hard working and enthusiastic.  A previous employer said I will always go the extra mile.

 

 

Strengths and Weaknesses

• What do you most enjoy about working with horses?

The horses! After all the years I still love being around them, watching them, looking after them.  It is still as wonderful to watch a horse roll now as the first time I saw it.

 

• Is there anything you’d like to improve?

There is no singular thing but I should always like to and be open to learning, progressing and improving.

• Why should employers consider you above any other job seeker?

I cannot comment on other job seekers but would like to think that if I am employed the employer would not regret it. I aim to do a good job for the employer and for my own pride and self esteem.

Requirements

• What would you like to do or gain in your next job?

Work well and be happy

• Do you need accommodation?

No

• Do you have any special requirements for any animals you wish to bring with you?

No

• Do you have any ongoing commitments?

No

 

• Do you have any holidays booked that an employer needs to know of?

No

 

Information

Caroline Carter Recruitment Ltd
The Stables
Fildyke Road
Meppershall
Bedfordshire
SG17 5LU

caroline@carolinecarterrecruitment.com
0203 006 5730 / 07747 686 118

Registered company number 10657796good site
Caroline Carter Recruitment Ltd is registered with the UK Information Commissioner as a data controller with registered number ZA250621

ENDORSED BY