fbpx
Call 0203 006 5730 / 07747 686118 or email info@carolinecarterrecruitment.com

Seeking Career in the Equestrian Industry 41 views

Ref: GL21775

Candidate contact details are only visible to employers with a current subscription
Subscribe

General Information

  • Age 31 years
  • Date of Birth 24th March 1989
  • Had previous paid employment within the equine industry? Locked
  • Preferred Countries United Kingdom, Wales, Scotland, Ireland, Northern Ireland, The EU, Europe, United States of America
  • County/State/Region Anywhere
  • Job Category Full Time, Permanent, Seasonal, Short Term (Temporary)
  • Earliest start date 4th January 2021
  • Freelance: Business Name Locked
  • Freelance: Hourly Rate Locked
  • Freelance: are you insured? Locked
  • Notice period Yes, I would require a notice period of at least 2 weeks.
  • Best time to call Locked
  • Working Couples: Partner's profile reference number Locked
  • Live in or out Live in, Live out
  • Co-habiting? Locked
  • Full Postcode if live out (Private) Locked
  • Expected Job Level Apprentice, Trainee, Groom, Groom/Rider, Rider, Part of a Team
  • Animals to bring to a job Locked
  • Describe the animal/s you HAVE to bring to the job (if applicable) Locked
  • Can drive Car
  • Own car? Car
  • Height 5’3” / 160cm
  • Approximate weight 9st / 57.2kg / 126lb
  • Total years experience with horses Locked
  • Previous paid/work experience Locked
  • Future disciplines Artificial Insemination (AI), Dressage, Endurance, Eventing, Foaling, Racing Flat, Reining, Rescue, Rehabilitation, Sales, Showing, Show Jumping, Stud, Training Yard/Positions, Trekking, Western, Working Hunter
  • Riding Role? Locked
  • Nationality American, Italian
  • Languages spoken Locked
  • Qualifications Locked
  • Equine Skills Exercise/Hack Out, Management Skills, Ride, Rider/Trainer, School, Work Rider
  • Non-Equine Skills Locked
  • Longest time in one job Locked
  • Position held in this job Locked
  • 2nd longest time in one job Locked
  • Position held in this job Locked
  • Upload your CV Locked
  • Current passport? Locked
  • DBS (formerly CRB) or equivalent Locked
  • Smoker? Locked
  • Video URL Locked
  • Image Uploads Locked

Experience with Horses

I started riding and taking lessons when I was 8 years old, so it has been over 20 years that I have been around horses. I have ridden/trained in the Hunter/Jumper discipline. I did not (and still do not) have a horse of my own. I have mostly ridden school horses and occasionally have had to opportunity to ride more advanced horses owned by people at the barn. I have ridden regularly, riding and/or lessoning at least once a week. From early 2017 through July 2020, I had to take a hiatus from riding due to various circumstances. Since July I have been back in the saddle, riding regularly, taking a lesson once a week.

I have handled horses ranging from fairly non-reactive to nervous, high energy, skittish horses. I have worked with horses who are sweet and gentle, sensitive horses, as well as stubborn, strong horses. As I grow to know a horse more in depth, I adapt how I work with the horse.

I have ridden several young and green horses used as school horses over the years. During lessons, with input and guidance from my instructor, I work to start teaching the horse good manners under saddle and over fences.

I consider myself an advanced rider in the Hunter/Jumper discipline. Because I ride mostly school horses, I typically jump around 2’6″ to 3′. However, I have jumped up to 3’6″ in the past. Overall, I am a confident rider. I want to learn more, expand my range of abilities, and keep improving.

In terms of competition experience, I have not done much showing. My show experience consists of schooling shows and local shows run by NIHJA (Northern Illinois Hunter/Jumper Association).

 

Key Skills

I have cared for several horses over the many years I have been riding/around horses. Some of the care experience I have includes grooming, bathing, tacking up/taking tack off, cleaning up after the horses, providing supplements with feed, basic first aid and medication application (via oral and topical methods).

In the past, I have been trusted by several boarders at the barn where I ride to care for and ride their horses. One boarder trusted me to continue the treatment regimen for her horse that had contracted a fungus. There was another boarder who relied on me many times to care for and ride her horse, an off-track Thoroughbred who was a very typical hot-blooded, skittish horse who was hard to handle. Due to the horse’s nature, few people at the barn were allowed to handle or ride her. As mentioned, I was one of those people trusted to do so.

Overall, I am self-motivated, highly reliable and trustworthy professional capable of learning and integrating information, knowledge, and direction quickly. I have a proven ability to develop and maintain positive, courteous, and professional relationships with clients, peers, managers, and other key stakeholders. I am capable of working independently as well as in partnership with diverse groups to facilitate smooth operation of the business and the success of key projects and goals. I demonstrate exemplary leadership and effective communication skills, the ability to perceive and act upon relevant changes, and capability to quickly, calmly, and efficiently respond to emergencies and fast-paced work environments.

Strengths and Weaknesses

• What do you most enjoy about working with horses?

I enjoy forming relationships and bonds with horses. Whenever I meet a horse – whether it is the first time or a horse I have met several times – I always make sure to form and upkeep a relationship with the horse. Building trust takes time, but I put in the work to build that trust. Once a bond/trust is established, if you are good to your horse, they will be good to/take care of you and work as hard as they can for you.

I also enjoy working with all different types of horses. Every horse is an individual with their own personality. Working with a variety of horses is a great learning opportunity (both on the ground and in saddle) that educates you on how to work with and adapt to the needs of different types of horses.

• Is there anything you’d like to improve?

I want to learn all that I can and gain experience in the equestrian/horse industry. Though I have been riding and working with horses for over 20 years, there is still a lot I have not learned or had the chance to experience. I want to learn and gain experience in as many areas of the horse industry as I can, exploring the various options for a career in the horse industry, figuring out what I enjoy most and what may be the best fit.

I also want to improve upon my skills – as a rider, a trainer, and an overall horsewoman.

• Why should employers consider you above any other job seeker?

I acknowledge that I have a unique background. However, I have learned how to leverage my diverse experience, education, and skill sets in the to achieve ambitious objectives and milestones. I am a fast, willing, and eager learner who integrates and applies knowledge quickly. I possess a strong work ethic, hold myself accountable for my responsibilities, and possess a track record of reliably and accurately performing my job duties.

Requirements

• What would you like to do or gain in your next job?

I would like to learn, explore, and gain experience in various areas of the horse industry. Some areas I would like to gain experience in include training, starting young horses, horse sales, horse health care, grooming (especially for show), breeding/foaling, and running a horse facility. I would also like for there to be a riding component as part of the job so I can continue to improve upon my abilities as a rider.

• Do you need accommodation?

Coming from the United States, I would likely need accommodations. However, I can look for and provide my own accommodations as necessary.

• Do you have any special requirements for any animals you wish to bring with you?

I do have several pets, both cats and dogs. I more than likely would not bring them with me initially. Over time, I may look into the possibility of bringing them over.

• Do you have any ongoing commitments?

I am currently employed. Upon accepting any offer, I would need at least 2 weeks to give my current employer notice that I am leaving.

• Do you have any holidays booked that an employer needs to know of?

Not at this time.

Information

Caroline Carter Recruitment Ltd
The Stables
Fildyke Road
Meppershall
Bedfordshire
SG17 5LU

caroline@carolinecarterrecruitment.com
0203 006 5730 / 07747 686 118

Registered company number 10657796good site
Caroline Carter Recruitment Ltd is registered with the UK Information Commissioner as a data controller with registered number ZA250621

ENDORSED BY