fbpx
Call 0203 006 5730 / 07747 686118 or email info@carolinecarterrecruitment.com

Stable Hand/Yard Assistant 21 views

Ref: GL22174

Candidate contact details are only visible to employers with a current subscription
Subscribe

General Information

  • Age 23 years
  • Date of Birth 12th December 1997
  • Had previous paid employment within the equine industry? Locked
  • Preferred Countries United Kingdom
  • County/State/Region Merseyside, UK
  • Job Category Full Time, Part Time
  • Earliest start date 8th December 2020
  • Freelance: Business Name Locked
  • Freelance: Hourly Rate Locked
  • Freelance: are you insured? Locked
  • Notice period No
  • Best time to call Locked
  • Working Couples: Partner's profile reference number Locked
  • Live in or out Live in, Live out
  • Co-habiting? Locked
  • Full Postcode if live out (Private) Locked
  • Expected Job Level Trainee, Groom, Groom/Rider, Rider, Part of a Team, Sole Charge, Home Groom, Competition Groom, Stud Groom, Stud Hand
  • Animals to bring to a job Locked
  • Describe the animal/s you HAVE to bring to the job (if applicable) Locked
  • Can drive None
  • Own car? None
  • Height 5”6’ / 167cm
  • Approximate weight 11.5st / 73kg / 161lb
  • Total years experience with horses Locked
  • Previous paid/work experience Locked
  • Future disciplines Artificial Insemination (AI), Carriage Driving, Dressage, Family Yard, Foaling, Livery, Polo, Rescue, Rehabilitation, Riding School, Stud, Training Yard/Positions
  • Riding Role? Locked
  • Nationality British
  • Languages spoken Locked
  • Qualifications Locked
  • Equine Skills Bandage, Clip, Equine First Aid, Exercise/Hack Out, Long Rein, Lunging, Maintenance Skills, Muck Out, Plait, Pull Mane/Tail, Ride, Rider/Trainer, School, Stallion Handling, Trim, Young Stock Handler
  • Non-Equine Skills Locked
  • Longest time in one job Locked
  • Position held in this job Locked
  • 2nd longest time in one job Locked
  • Position held in this job Locked
  • Upload your CV Locked
  • Current passport? Locked
  • DBS (formerly CRB) or equivalent Locked
  • Smoker? Locked
  • Video URL Locked
  • Image Uploads Locked

Experience with Horses

I have a broad range of skills due to the experience that I have had with horses over the years, this includes the re-training and handling of the rescued cob stallion that came to me in 2018, along with a wide range of horses as shown below;

Myerscough College

Level 3 subsidiary diploma in Horse Management: Merit                  2016

Level 3 Top-Up Diploma in Horse Management: Double Merit        2017

BSc (hons) Equine science: Upper second (2:1)                                     2020

Work experience

Mather Avenue Mounted Police Stables (work experience/volunteer)

Stable Hand including; Mucking out and grooming police horses, Feeding and watering horses, everyday jobs around the stables (cleaning tack, brushing up etc), Exercising horses on the horse walker and watching training sessions.

Start date: Dec 2013  Duration: 2 weeks

Longacres Riding School (volunteer)

Stable Hand including; Mucking out horses, Feeding and watering horses, assisting in beginning, intermediate and advanced level riding lessons, Rehabilitation of recovering horses and Maintenance of tack and stable yard.

Start date: Jan 2009  End date: Dec 2013

Myerscough college weekend and bank holiday staff (Work)

This job included the care of the variety of horses and ponies located at Myerscough college (Croxteth). I aided in the general health care, exercising, feeding, watering and upkeep of the stable yard to make sure that the yard is a safe and non-stressful environment for both horses and staff

Start date: 30th December 2016 End date: 31st May 2018

Halsal equestrian centre (Volunteer/work experience)

This included getting into work for 8am and mucking out, grooming, feeding, exercising the horses and tacking up. I also helped to turn out the horses and bring in, whilst adhering to the health and safety regulations and making sure I, and everyone else was safe at all times.

Myerscough College – Preston

In first year, I completed 4 weekends on the yard, Saturday and Sunday from 8am – 5pm. This included mucking out, turning out and bringing in, feeding and providing water for the horses. I also groomed, exercised and did general jobs on the yard such as sweeping and organising rugs. I completed a yard day, once a week every Thursday also from 9am-5pm, which included all of the same duties.

Key Skills

Communication

  • I believe that I have good communication skills that can allow me to talk to people around me to achieve a good standard of work without any miscommunications.
  • Volunteering and working with a variety of  people in different working situations has helped me to be able to communicate with a wide variety of people, for example, leading and helping disabled riders in a riding school.

Team player

  • I am a team player and always take on board what people have to say to make the working environment a better and more productive one.
  • Frequently conducting group activities during college and university aided in my ability to work well with others.
  • Volunteering and working with people on a variety of yards has aided my team working skills.

IT

  • I am competent at using a computer as I have produced many written documents and PowerPoint presentations during my time in college and university including a dissertation.
  • I studied IT and Computing and can understand the basic binary codes in programming and computer maintenance.
  • I have used many programs when writing a dissertation related to biomechanics (Quintic) and was able to use statistical analysis programs to analyse this.
  • In IT I am used to using excel spreadsheets and other office programs.

Research

  • During my time in college I did a lot of research to support my assignments via books, internet, magazines and journals.
  • During my time in university I carried out many assignments and completed these to a high standard. I also produced a dissertation using lots of research and my own experimental design to achieve a high grade (74%).

 

Strengths and Weaknesses

• What do you most enjoy about working with horses?

I most enjoy the variety of roles that are involved when working with horses, there is always something to do to keep you busy and on your toes most of the time! Horses can be unpredictable, but the bond that is created when you are working with them is both rewarding and humbling, caring for animals is a passion of mine, which is what i enjoy most about working with horses.

• Is there anything you’d like to improve?

I would like to improve and learn more about rehabilitation in horses who have been mistreated, animal welfare is a great interest of mine and i would like to improve my skills that are centred around physiotherapy and nutrition to aid in the rehabilitation of horses. Some modules in University touched upon this, however i would like to put this theory into practice and improve upon how to use this knowledge in the horse world.

• Why should employers consider you above any other job seeker?

I am a very motivated individual with lots of working and voluntary experience over the years, as well as a passion for animal care with a fair but firm approach to training, using positive reinforcement methods. I have a willingness to learn and I strive to learn quickly and use my initiative and think on my feet when dealing with day to day tasks around horses.

Requirements

• What would you like to do or gain in your next job?

I would like to gain experience in working with horses who need rehabilitating, from ex-racers to welfare cases. I would also like to learn more about the competition side of the horse world, as this is something that I have not seen much of. My ideal job would be to work on a quiet yard with horses that need lots of care and attention, however I work well under pressure and working on a busy yard would be a great experience that I would not shy away from.

• Do you need accommodation?

Accommodation would be useful as I do not yet have a full drivers license however this should be rectified soon as i am currently having lessons, unfortunately Covid-19 slowed this process down somewhat.

• Do you have any special requirements for any animals you wish to bring with you?

I would not be bringing any animals with me

• Do you have any ongoing commitments?

I am currently unemployed and looking for work with horses so i have no other commitments to work

• Do you have any holidays booked that an employer needs to know of?

No

Information

Caroline Carter Recruitment Ltd
The Stables
Fildyke Road
Meppershall
Bedfordshire
SG17 5LU

caroline@carolinecarterrecruitment.com
0203 006 5730 / 07747 686 118

Registered company number 10657796good site
Caroline Carter Recruitment Ltd is registered with the UK Information Commissioner as a data controller with registered number ZA250621

ENDORSED BY