fbpx
Call 0203 006 5730 / 07747 686118 or email info@carolinecarterrecruitment.com

Groom 20 views

Ref: GL22329

Candidate contact details are only visible to employers with a current subscription
Subscribe

General Information

  • Age 22 years
  • Date of Birth 2nd September 1998
  • Had previous paid employment within the equine industry? Locked
  • Preferred Countries United Kingdom
  • County/State/Region Cotswolds, Devon, UK, Gloucestershire, UK, Oxfordshire, UK, Somerset, UK
  • Job Category Full Time, Seasonal
  • Earliest start date 5th January 2021
  • Freelance: Business Name Locked
  • Freelance: Hourly Rate Locked
  • Freelance: are you insured? Locked
  • Notice period 2 weeks
  • Best time to call Locked
  • Working Couples: Partner's profile reference number Locked
  • Live in or out Live in
  • Co-habiting? Locked
  • Full Postcode if live out (Private) Locked
  • Expected Job Level Trainee, Groom, Groom/Rider
  • Animals to bring to a job Locked
  • Describe the animal/s you HAVE to bring to the job (if applicable) Locked
  • Can drive Car, 3.5t
  • Own car? Car
  • Height 6’2” / 187cm
  • Approximate weight 14st / 88.9kg / 196lb
  • Total years experience with horses Locked
  • Previous paid/work experience Locked
  • Future disciplines Eventing, Family Yard, Hunting
  • Riding Role? Locked
  • Nationality British
  • Languages spoken Locked
  • Qualifications Locked
  • Equine Skills Bandage, Clip, Compete, Equine First Aid, Exercise/Hack Out, Lunging, Maintenance Skills, Management Skills, Muck Out, Plait, Pull Mane/Tail, Ride, Rider/Trainer, School, Show Turnout, Sole charge, Trim
  • Non-Equine Skills Locked
  • Longest time in one job Locked
  • Position held in this job Locked
  • 2nd longest time in one job Locked
  • Position held in this job Locked
  • Upload your CV Locked
  • Current passport? Locked
  • DBS (formerly CRB) or equivalent Locked
  • Smoker? Locked
  • Video URL Locked
  • Image Uploads Locked

Experience with Horses

Outline your experience with horses here/the scope of your freelance services. If you’re looking for a non-equine or non- yard-based job please use this space to describe your experience skills/abilities and adapt the questions to suit your line of work.

I have grown up with horses since the age of 11. Ever since this age I have continually sought experiences to further my knowledges and better my riding. From the age of 11 until university, 18, I was an active member of my local pony club and riding club, being selected for the team competitions. During this time, I have had three ponies/horses of my own. First of all, a 13.2hh pony club pony which was a challenge and really taught me the basics and how to stick on, spending more time on the ground than on the pony. From here I moved onto a 14.2hh native where I took part with all PC activities, and did some native showing and working hunters where we travelled around Scotland and competed at a variety of shows and qualified and competed at the Blair Horse Trials for both the showing and working hunter classes. Moving on to my current horse which has been retired due to injure, Benson, a 16.1hh hunter type which has taken me from ponies to PC Open eventing and competing BE before sustaining an injury where he has been retired to live an easy hacking life.

I moved away to Hartpury College for a year to study Animal Science in 2016, during which I took my horse, Benson, with me. Whilst here I had access to excellent facilities and used this to my advantage by also seeking lessons from coaches who taught on the premises. One of which, Nick Gauntlett, I had several lessons with, and this led to me acquiring a position on his yard from February until the end of my tie at college in June when I had to return home.

During my time at Nick Gauntlett Eventing, I was exposed to handling very fit competition horses, and working on a fast-paced competition yard. Those of us who worked on the yard rotated when going to competitions and therefor I have experience of sole-working both at competition and at home on the yard. Additionally, I was responsible for riding the horses with the other members of staff. This greatly improved my riding and has enabled me to develop a real feel for a horse. During my time at NG Eventing, I have developed a good eye for attention-to-detail and strive for and take pride in a high level of turnout. Prior to my year at college, I was a regular help at my local riding school partaking with all regular tasks at the riding school, including assisting with lessons at all levels and as a result of this, I have been doing tasks which involve engaging with children and making mundane tasks enjoyable, and coming up with intuitive learning methods to aid children learning.

Finally, during my time at university, 2017 – 2020, I would regularly act as groom for a friend of mine on the weekends and holidays who was competing up to (old) CCI1* and assist with riding and yard tasks at her yard when I had time outwit my degree.

Key Skills

What are you particularly good at? For example: working alone, working with others, clipping, plaiting, turning out for shows, handling stallions, handling/riding young horses, non-equine skills etc

  • Lone working
  • Team working
  • Clipping, trimming, plaiting, pulling manes/tails, turnout
  • Riding fit competition horses
  • Attention to detail when schooling
  • Lunging
  • Stable management
  • Basic veterinary techniques
  • Time management
  • Working with children
  • Computer and admin skills

Strengths and Weaknesses

• What do you most enjoy about working with horses?

I most enjoy the satisfaction that comes with seeing hard work paying off and developing new skills at lessons/clinics which I can then implement and reap the benefits of at home. I enjoy gaining satisfaction from both a riding point of view, and from the ground, and enjoy developing a good relationship with the horse.

• Is there anything you’d like to improve?

I have a tendency to ‘try too hard’ and get inside my head a little when riding and become a little fixated on a task. I have found myself becoming more aware of this, but obtaining a full state of relaxation throughout my body is what I would like to improve. Additionally, I would also like to continually improve and learn new tricks and methods to keep on improving my stable management.

• Why should employers consider you above any other job seeker?

I am very strict and disciplined with myself, and a high attention to detail, whilst all the while, I am very humble and realise the importance of being able to enjoy tasks. I enjoy receiving constructive criticism to improve, and have a very positive attitude towards learning new things. I am a very jovial, and outgoing person and believe myself a joy to be with.

Of course, I am more than happy to speak further over the phone.

Requirements

• What would you like to do or gain in your next job?

I would like to further my riding, and if there was possibility, I would love to acquire my trailer and HGV licence.

• Do you need accommodation?

Yes

• Do you have any special requirements for any animals you wish to bring with you?

No

• Do you have any ongoing commitments?

No

• Do you have any holidays booked that an employer needs to know of?

N/A (covid!)

Information

Caroline Carter Recruitment Ltd
The Stables
Fildyke Road
Meppershall
Bedfordshire
SG17 5LU

caroline@carolinecarterrecruitment.com
0203 006 5730 / 07747 686 118

Registered company number 10657796good site
Caroline Carter Recruitment Ltd is registered with the UK Information Commissioner as a data controller with registered number ZA250621

ENDORSED BY