fbpx
Call 0203 006 5730 / 07747 686118 or email info@carolinecarterrecruitment.com

Police officer 18 views

Ref: GL22342

Candidate contact details are only visible to employers with a current subscription
Subscribe

General Information

  • Age 28 years
  • Date of Birth 1st August 1992
  • Had previous paid employment within the equine industry? Locked
  • Preferred Countries United Kingdom
  • County/State/Region Kent, UK
  • Job Category Flexible Hours, Freelance, Full Time, Part Time, Permanent
  • Earliest start date 11th February 2021
  • Freelance: Business Name Locked
  • Freelance: Hourly Rate Locked
  • Freelance: are you insured? Locked
  • Notice period 28 days
  • Best time to call Locked
  • Working Couples: Partner's profile reference number Locked
  • Live in or out Live out
  • Co-habiting? Locked
  • Full Postcode if live out (Private) Locked
  • Expected Job Level Trainee, Groom, Groom/Rider, Part of a Team, Sole Charge, Assistant Head Person, Head Person, Home Groom, Competition Groom, Stud Groom, Stud Hand, Other, Housekeeper, Admin/Office-based
  • Animals to bring to a job Locked
  • Describe the animal/s you HAVE to bring to the job (if applicable) Locked
  • Can drive Car, 3.5t
  • Own car? Car
  • Height 5”6’ / 167cm
  • Approximate weight 9st / 57.2kg / 126lb
  • Total years experience with horses Locked
  • Previous paid/work experience Locked
  • Future disciplines Dressage, Family Yard, Livery, Riding for the Disabled (RDA), Rescue, Rehabilitation, Retail, Sales, Showing, Show Jumping, Stud, Therapeutic Riding, Training Yard/Positions
  • Riding Role? Locked
  • Nationality British
  • Languages spoken Locked
  • Qualifications Locked
  • Equine Skills Back/Break, Bandage, Clip, Equine First Aid, Exercise/Hack Out, Long Rein, Lunging, Management Skills, Muck Out, Plait, Pull Mane/Tail, Ride, Sales Preparation, School, Show Turnout, Sole charge, Stallion Handling, Supervisory Skills, Trim, Work Rider, Young Stock Handler, Young Stock Rider
  • Non-Equine Skills Locked
  • Longest time in one job Locked
  • Position held in this job Locked
  • 2nd longest time in one job Locked
  • Position held in this job Locked
  • Upload your CV Locked
  • Current passport? Locked
  • DBS (formerly CRB) or equivalent Locked
  • Smoker? Locked
  • Video URL Locked
  • Image Uploads Locked

Experience with Horses

I have been riding and around horses for approx. 18 years, working at a riding school whilst growing up, and then working with horses full time for approx. 4 years.

During this time I have been self-employed for 2-3 years, offering riding and clipping services. I generated my own clients through advertising on social media and word of mouth. I enjoyed travelling to different yards and meeting with new people and horses.

I have also worked with a dressage rider on a small yard for approx. 2 years, being responsible for all yard duties and often taking sole responsibility and working alone. This time developed my skills in plaiting and show turnout, being a groom at clinics and shows, riding and assisting with the training of young horses and stallions including backing, and liaising with owners and clients.

I then moved on to have a partnership business as a livery and training yard for 2 years. I was responsible for the online presence and advertising which I thoroughly enjoyed doing. I also gained new skills in management and pay/accounts as we employed two apprentices as the business grew. I thrive on manual work and love seeing the results of happy horses and owners. We had permanent liveries as well as short term in for training, and I was always very interested and motivated to get to know each individual horse and work with them and their owners.

Working for 5 years as a police officer, I keep calm in stressful situations and am confident in speaking to people and finding solutions.

I am looking to get back into the equine world after 5 years away, to get back to my passion and hone my skills again! I’m very happy to learn new things and am open to all options and opportunities in the South East as I live in Kent. I love being outside and work through whatever weather is thrown at us, but would also consider non-yard jobs as a new challenge.

 

 

Key Skills

I am very organised and tidy, and work quickly and efficiently. I am comfortable and competent at working alone and with others. I am also able to use social media to create a profile and advertise.

When I was working with horses full time I regularly handled and backed youngsters, often getting them ready for sale. I was capable of working with horses through behavioural challenges and explaining the process to owners. I became skilful in clipping, plaiting and show turnout, however I have not used these skills for a few years.

 

Strengths and Weaknesses

• What do you most enjoy about working with horses?

This is very difficult! I love learning a horse’s personality and quirks, and building a relationship with them on and off the ground. But I also appreciate how they make me feel – I feel at ease and relaxed when I’m in a horse environment, it’s my go to happy place!

• Is there anything you’d like to improve?

I enjoy learning and am always happy to improve or learn a new skill. I would like to improve my knowledge of the muscular and skeletal systems and be able to use this understanding in their care and riding.

• Why should employers consider you above any other job seeker?

Yes, I have been away from the finer side of horses for a few years (I have continued riding), but I’m drawn back to it. I am 28 years old, have had another professional career, have a stable (no pun intended!) home life and know that horses are where my heart lies. So you know what you’re getting with me, I’m in it for the long run, will show up on time and stay until the job is done with no grumbles. I am reliable, eager to learn and an extremely hard worker. I enjoy the physical side of work and don’t shy away from a challenge. I’ve also been known to enjoy a cuppa and chat every now and then!

Requirements

• What would you like to do or gain in your next job?

I am open to all opportunities, I’m hoping for a full time permanent job that’s going to pay the bills but I know that’s like gold dust!

• Do you need accommodation?

No

• Do you have any special requirements for any animals you wish to bring with you?

No

• Do you have any ongoing commitments?

No

• Do you have any holidays booked that an employer needs to know of?

No

Information

Caroline Carter Recruitment Ltd
The Stables
Fildyke Road
Meppershall
Bedfordshire
SG17 5LU

caroline@carolinecarterrecruitment.com
0203 006 5730 / 07747 686 118

Registered company number 10657796good site
Caroline Carter Recruitment Ltd is registered with the UK Information Commissioner as a data controller with registered number ZA250621

ENDORSED BY