fbpx
Call 0203 006 5730 / 07747 686118 or email info@carolinecarterrecruitment.com

Groom/ exercise rider 58 views

Ref: GL24622

Candidate contact details are only visible to employers with a current subscription
Subscribe

General Information

  • Age 18 years
  • Date of Birth 27th August 2003
  • Had previous paid employment within the equine industry? Locked
  • Preferred Countries United Kingdom
  • County/State/Region East Sussex, UK, Essex, UK, Greater London, UK, Hampshire, UK, Kent, UK, Middlesex, UK, West Sussex, UK
  • Job Category Full Time, Permanent
  • Earliest start date 7th March 2022
  • Freelance: Business Name Locked
  • Freelance: Hourly Rate Locked
  • Freelance: are you insured? Locked
  • Notice period 2 weeks
  • Best time to call Locked
  • Working Couples: Partner's profile reference number Locked
  • Live in or out Live in
  • Co-habiting? Locked
  • Full Postcode if live out (Private) Locked
  • Expected Job Level Groom, Groom/Rider, Rider, Part of a Team, Sole Charge, Assistant Head Person, Head Person, Home Groom, Competition Groom, Housekeeper, Admin/Office-based
  • Animals to bring to a job Locked
  • Describe the animal/s you HAVE to bring to the job (if applicable) Locked
  • Can drive Car
  • Own car? Car
  • Height 5’1” / 154cm
  • Approximate weight 8.5st / 54kg / 119lb
  • Total years experience with horses Locked
  • Previous paid/work experience Locked
  • Future disciplines Dealer, Dressage, Endurance, Eventing, Family Yard, Foaling, Horse Transport, Hunting, Livery, P2P, Polo, Pony Club Activities, Racing Flat, Racing NH, Riding for the Disabled (RDA), Reining, Rescue, Rehabilitation, Retail, Sales, Showing, Show Jumping, Stud, Team Chase, Therapeutic Riding, Training Yard/Positions, Trekking, Working Hunter
  • Riding Role? Locked
  • Nationality British
  • Languages spoken Locked
  • Qualifications Locked
  • Equine Skills Bandage, Clip, Equine First Aid, Exercise/Hack Out, Long Rein, Lunging, Maintenance Skills, Management Skills, Muck Out, Plait, Pull Mane/Tail, Ride, School, Sole charge, Trim, Work Rider, Work with children
  • Non-Equine Skills Locked
  • Longest time in one job Locked
  • Position held in this job Locked
  • 2nd longest time in one job Locked
  • Position held in this job Locked
  • Upload your CV Locked
  • Current passport? Locked
  • DBS (formerly CRB) or equivalent Locked
  • Smoker? Locked
  • Video URL Locked
  • Image Uploads Locked

Experience with Horses

I am an 18 year old equestrian currently looking for a full time, live-in position as a groom/ in an equine role.

In terms of my experience with horses, I have had horses of my own in the past and enjoy schooling, hacking, jumping etc, although I’ve never competed seriously as I haven’t had the opportunity to do so. I attended Plumpton College in 2019 to do a 2 year Level 3 extended diploma in Equine Management. This course was particularly good for improving my knowledge in the theory side of things, including equine fitness, nutrition, injuries etc, as well as the ins and outs of different disciplines.

Alongside attending college, I also worked part-time at a private yard nearby for a family who hunted and evented. They owned 8 horses, including youngsters recently broken, to ex-racehorses, to all rounders competing up to 2* in eventing. I worked sole-charge on the yard, being the first to arrive in the morning to feed, muck out, change rugs, groom and prepare the horses for being ridden, and being the last to leave in the evening after putting the horses to bed. As well as working hands on with the horses and hacking them out during the day, I also did many maintenance jobs such as de-weeding the fields, keeping the gutters clean, painting the stables, blowing the leaves on the yard, fencing etc. The standards of both the horses care and the cleanliness of the yard were very high, and this is something I hope to continue in my next job. Although I wasn’t a travel groom and didn’t attend events myself in this job, I did help to prep beforehand, including bedding up the back of the lorry, loading the lorry with tack, rugs, feed etc and cleaning the living area.

After leaving college in July 2021, and subsequently leaving my part-time job, I did do a months work experience  full time on a bigger yard of 20-30 horses for a 5* eventer, where I did all the usual yard duties but also got the opportunity to travel as an event groom. This meant that I would bath, plait and stud up the horses myself beforehand, and then wake up as early as 3am to feed and load the ones going. I had the responsibility of keeping the horses hydrated throughout the journey, giving them a leg stretch and checking their plaits upon arrival, before grooming them, tacking them up, changing their studs and taking them to the warm-up rings. I would then wash them off, walk them round, take their studs and plaits out and ice their legs after finishing all 3 phases. Working on this bigger yard also helped me to develop my skills working as part of a team, and the fact that it was a competition livery yard meant that I was working alongside owners and attending to their individual needs for their horses.

In both of these jobs, I also got the opportunity to watch equine vets, physiotherapists and specialist farriers which I found very interesting and this has further helped to improve my knowledge.

Key Skills

 

My key skills include:

. The ability to work alone using my own initiative in different situations

. The ability to communicate well and distribute jobs fairly when working as part of a team

. The ability to remain calm and confident when handling and riding strong/ silly horses

. I keep a high standard of cleanliness on the yard and am organised, particularly in tack/ feed/ rug rooms

. I am attentive to horses individual needs

. Once I become comfortable with my role on a new yard, I generally have good time management on the yard, doing jobs efficiently

 

Strengths and Weaknesses

My strengths include the skills stated above, but if I had to add anything, it would be that I’m extremely passionate about working with horses and their care is of upmost importance to me. I am willing to put in long hours of hard work as I know this is what is required in this line of work. I always aim to keep a positive attitude and am motivated to do every job to the best of my ability.

In terms of weaknesses, at the end of the day I am still learning and certain things I need more practice at, such as plaiting and studding up, particularly as I haven’t competed on my own horses. I am honest with my abilities and in turn I am looking for an employer who is willing to accept this and be willing to continue teaching me as I am always keen to continue expanding my knowledge.

 

Requirements

I don’t have many requirements, but I do need accommodation and, if agreeable to my employer, I might like to have my own horse or dog in future, but this isn’t a deal breaker.

In terms of disciplines, I don’t have a set discipline in mind and am open to everything!

 

Information

Caroline Carter Recruitment Ltd
The Stables
Fildyke Road
Meppershall
Bedfordshire
SG17 5LU

caroline@carolinecarterrecruitment.com
0203 006 5730 / 07747 686 118

Registered company number 10657796good site
Caroline Carter Recruitment Ltd is registered with the UK Information Commissioner as a data controller with registered number ZA250621

ENDORSED BY