fbpx
Call 0203 006 5730 / 07747 686118 or email info@carolinecarterrecruitment.com

Apprentice/Beginner groom (Very willing to learn) 136 views

Ref: GL24633

Candidate contact details are only visible to employers with a current subscription
Subscribe

General Information

  • Age 16 years
  • Date of Birth 29th July 2005
  • Had previous paid employment within the equine industry? Locked
  • Preferred Countries United Kingdom
  • County/State/Region Anywhere
  • Job Category Full Time
  • Earliest start date 13th January 2022
  • Freelance: Business Name Locked
  • Freelance: Hourly Rate Locked
  • Freelance: are you insured? Locked
  • Notice period No notice period
  • Best time to call Locked
  • Working Couples: Partner's profile reference number Locked
  • Live in or out Live in, Live out
  • Co-habiting? Locked
  • Full Postcode if live out (Private) Locked
  • Expected Job Level Apprentice, Trainee, Groom, Groom/Rider, Rider, Part of a Team
  • Animals to bring to a job Locked
  • Describe the animal/s you HAVE to bring to the job (if applicable) Locked
  • Can drive None
  • Own car? None
  • Height 5’4” / 162cm
  • Approximate weight 8.5st / 54kg / 119lb
  • Total years experience with horses Locked
  • Previous paid/work experience Locked
  • Future disciplines Dressage, Eventing, Family Yard, Foaling, Livery, Racing Flat, Racing NH, Riding School, Sales, Showing, Show Jumping, Stud, Training Yard/Positions
  • Riding Role? Locked
  • Nationality British
  • Languages spoken Locked
  • Qualifications Locked
  • Equine Skills Bandage, Compete, Exercise/Hack Out, Muck Out, Ride, Sales Preparation, School, Show Turnout, Work Rider, Work with children
  • Non-Equine Skills Locked
  • Longest time in one job Locked
  • Position held in this job Locked
  • 2nd longest time in one job Locked
  • Position held in this job Locked
  • Upload your CV Locked
  • Current passport? Locked
  • DBS (formerly CRB) or equivalent Locked
  • Smoker? Locked
  • Video URL Locked
  • Image Uploads Locked

Experience with Horses

I started riding lessons when I was 2 years old at Stepney Banks Stables, Newcastle Upon Tyne.
From there I went to Crookgate Stables, Burnopfield at the age of 5. Here I started to learn how to walk, trot, canter and gallop off the lead rein and began to learn how to jump. I was always eager to help out around the yard and helped the staff with basic yard duties such as mucking out and filling haynets whenever I could. I left crookgate at the age of 10 after a change in owners knowing how to walk, trot, canter, gallop, hack and jump without a lead rein comfortably.
I then went to Westacre Stables, Sunniside where I continued with weekly lessons and joined pony club. During my time at Westacres I was taught by Kellie Davidson and Kimberly Knowles. Within pony club, I continued learning how to do yard duties on a busy riding school/livery yard to a high standard. At the age of 11 I started to do cross country schooling during the summer months. My confidence with jumping started growing and I developed a love for cross country. I also started competing in the dressage competitions that Westacres held, completing 7BD Intro tests and 5 BD Prelim tests and coming away with 5 firsts, 4 seconds, 1 third, 1 fifth and 1 sixth overall. They were regularly judged by Helen Townsend and Kay Redfern. Westacres also regularly held clinics for different disciplines such as flatwork, showing, showjumping and cross country and I participated in them as much as I could to develop further knowledge on how different disciplines ride and to improve my riding.
I started to volunteer whenever I could during all kinds of weather, helping out with more yard duties such as making feeds, brining in and
turning out horses, helping to lead younger riders in lessons, checking fields for rubbish and cleaning them, cleaning tack, bathing and grooming horses, mucking out, filling haynets and ensuring all water was always fully topped up and clean.
There was occasions where I rode sales horses for the stables to make sure that they were suitable for younger riders.
I am confident to ride any sort of horse as I am quite short and light so can ride smaller ponies however also firm with a good seat and strong legs meaning I can also ride bigger and young/green horses.

Key Skills

I am a strong independent worker meaning that I can get along with tasks by myself and still complete them to a high standard within a set time frame. As well as this, I am also an excellent team player and get along with anyone I am set to work with. This is due to my brilliant communication skills and my ability to work with others to come up with the best plan on how to handle a job efficiently.

I am an extremely hard worker meaning I get yard jobs such as mucking out, filling haynets, making feeds etc completed to a very high standard. I also find a therapeutic enjoyment to being around horses and take pride and care when looking after them. This results in me turning out horses to a very high standard, including show standard.

Due to my basically lifelong experience with horses, I think of myself as quite a good rider. I am comfortable and confident riding any horse put in front of me whether it be a naughty school pony or a green youngster being broken in. I am happy schooling, jumping and hacking.

Strengths and Weaknesses

• I really enjoy working around horses and my strengths are vast as I have explained above.

 

• I would definitely like to improve my plaiting skills as they are one of the main things a groom needs to perfect. I would also like to possibly improve my lunging skills as I haven’t had that much experience with lunging and would like to further my knowledge of how it benefits a horse and how to lunge properly. As well as this, I would like to improve my riding skills if possible. I would like to work on my schooling to ensure that I have 100% mastered the basics.

• As my biggest hopes are of becoming a professional eventing groom/rider, I would then like to progress onto working on the 3 aspects of eventing. Firstly by working on my dressage skills and improving my dressage knowledge- as I have been taught that behind good jumping there is always dressage! Then I would hope to be able to improve my jumping skills and boost my confidence with larger jumps, whether that be on a showjumping course, X-Country course or both. The only reason I’m not too confident with larger jumps (1M +) is due to a fall I had shortly before I stopped riding for a while which knocked my confidence for a while however I am ready to build myself back up.

 

• At 16, many employers are put off by lack of experience and lack of effort to work however I have got 14 year of experience already under my belt and always put 110% into whatever job is thrown at me.

Requirements

• In my next job I would hopefully like to go into an apprenticeship and gain my level 2 Diploma in Horse Care (preferably Horse Care and Riding as opposed to just Horse Care). However if I cannot go into an apprenticeship, I would be happy to join a yard as a groom and learn more about the equine world that way and further my skills. I would also like to hopefully complete my BHS exams and work my way up through their levels so any help from an employer to get me the training and advice needed to pass them would be a massive bonus!

 

• I am based in Newcastle Upon-Tyne but I am more than happy and capable of moving away as being away from home does not affect me. If I was to move away I would require live-in accommodation.

 

• I would not be bringing any animals with me.

 

• I have no ongoing commitments.

 

• I have no holidays planned/booked.

Information

Caroline Carter Recruitment Ltd
The Stables
Fildyke Road
Meppershall
Bedfordshire
SG17 5LU

caroline@carolinecarterrecruitment.com
0203 006 5730 / 07747 686 118

Registered company number 10657796good site
Caroline Carter Recruitment Ltd is registered with the UK Information Commissioner as a data controller with registered number ZA250621

ENDORSED BY