fbpx
Call 0203 006 5730 / 07747 686118 or email info@carolinecarterrecruitment.com

Groom 21 views

Ref: GL25743

Candidate contact details are only visible to employers with a current subscription
Subscribe

General Information

  • Age 20 years
  • Date of Birth 21st September 2001
  • Had previous paid employment within the equine industry? Locked
  • Preferred Countries United Kingdom
  • County/State/Region Cumbria
  • Job Category Full Time, Part Time, Permanent
  • Earliest start date 7th August 2022
  • Freelance: Business Name Locked
  • Freelance: Hourly Rate Locked
  • Freelance: are you insured? Locked
  • Notice period 4 weeks
  • Best time to call Locked
  • Working Couples: Partner's profile reference number Locked
  • Live in or out Live in
  • Co-habiting? Locked
  • Full Postcode if live out (Private) Locked
  • Expected Job Level Groom, Groom/Rider, Rider, Part of a Team, Sole Charge, Assistant Head Person, Head Person, Manager, Home Groom, Competition Groom
  • Animals to bring to a job Locked
  • Describe the animal/s you HAVE to bring to the job (if applicable) Locked
  • Can drive Car, Tractor, Trailer, 3.5t
  • Own car? Car
  • Height 5’3” / 160cm
  • Approximate weight 10st / 63.5kg / 140lb
  • Total years experience with horses Locked
  • Previous paid/work experience Locked
  • Future disciplines College, Eventing, Family Yard, Foaling, Livery, Pony Club Activities, Sales, Show Jumping, Stud
  • Riding Role? Locked
  • Nationality British
  • Languages spoken Locked
  • Qualifications Locked
  • Equine Skills Back/Break, Bandage, Clip, Compete, Equine First Aid, Exercise/Hack Out, Long Rein, Lunging, Management Skills, Muck Out, Plait, Ride, School, Sole charge, Stallion Handling, Trim, Work Rider, Work with children, Young Stock Handler
  • Non-Equine Skills Locked
  • Longest time in one job Locked
  • Position held in this job Locked
  • 2nd longest time in one job Locked
  • Position held in this job Locked
  • Upload your CV Locked
  • Current passport? Locked
  • DBS (formerly CRB) or equivalent Locked
  • Smoker? Locked
  • Video URL Locked
  • Image Uploads Locked

Experience with Horses

I have been lucky enough to work in a handful of different roles within the Equine Industry. My First job position was on a local family eventing yard, where I worked as both an at home and travelling groom around England before unfortunately being let go due to there not being enough work for me at the time. I then managed to get a job on a local dealers yard, assisting with the exercising of sometimes young and newly broken horses and ponies along with occasionally assisting with breaking. My most recent role was at Newton Rigg College, where I was offered a job as a Yard Technician after qualifying from my 2 year course. At my short time here (before the college closure in mid 2021) I was given the opportunity to step up to the role of yard manger as the existing one was suffering from a broken arm. This allowed me to learn more about what it takes to run an equine yard to a high standard.

 

 

 

Key Skills

Due to my different jobs within the industry, along with my qualifications I have learnt and developed a range of skills. I am happy to work well alone or in a team, whilst being able to get along with everyone. I can plait, clip, trim and turn out to a high standard along with being a well organised, well presented individual, with willingness to your outside in all weather.

 

 

Strengths and Weaknesses

• What do you most enjoy about working with horses?

One of the things I most enjoy about working with horses would be how rewarding the job is. Weather it’s working with a horse from breaking it in to selling it on to someone and watching how happy that horse makes somebody or how successful they become, or from working extremely hard to look after a horse’s health, making sure they’re fit, well cared for and happy and being able to watch them go our into the competition world, doing well and seeing the work pay off.

• Is there anything you’d like to improve?

On area I would like to improve on is plaiting tails as this is something I seem to struggle with more than other things, however I feel like we’re always learning in the equine industry about how to improve on a task, or discovering an easier, less time consuming way to do something.

• Why should employers consider you above any other job seeker?

I think I should be considered above any other jobseeker as I am a well organised, hard working individual with a passion for horses and have exceptional communication skills. I always strive to complete every task to the best of my ability with a great attention to detail.

Requirements

• What would you like to do or gain in your next job?

I would love to be able to travel more, allowing me to see more of what the competition world is like both in the UK and abroad. I would aslo love to be able to learn new skills and develop skills I have already even further.

• Do you need accommodation?

Accommodation would be necessary dependant on where the job was based.

• Do you have any special requirements for any animals you wish to bring with you?

I would love to be able to bring my own horse with me, he is a 15.2hh Appaloosa gelding who I currently compete in unaffiliated show jumping. I also have a small long-haired Chihuahua who if possible I would also like to join me.

• Do you have any ongoing commitments?

I do not currently have any ongoing commitments.

• Do you have any holidays booked that an employer needs to know of?

I have the following dates needed due to holidays and a stay away show that’s already been paid for;

21.07.2022 – 25.07.2022

15.08.2022 – 21.08.2022 (possibility to change)

21.09.2022 – 25.09.2022

Information

Caroline Carter Recruitment Ltd
The Stables
Fildyke Road
Meppershall
Bedfordshire
SG17 5LU

caroline@carolinecarterrecruitment.com
0203 006 5730 / 07747 686 118

Registered company number 10657796good site
Caroline Carter Recruitment Ltd is registered with the UK Information Commissioner as a data controller with registered number ZA250621

ENDORSED BY