fbpx
Call 0203 006 5730 / 07747 686118 or email info@carolinecarterrecruitment.com

Live in Horsey Housekeeper, Groom/Rider required in Essex 228 views11 applications

Ref: JL55298

Job Description

US!

We live just outside Colchester on the Essex/Suffolk border – my husband goes to London every day as it’s an easy commute. We have a daughter at Edinburgh University, another doing A levels (she’s the rider) and a 13 year old son, both at boarding school.

We’ve been spoilt by 2 fabulous students, one after the other, who have looked after us since May but are now off to uni themselves. – 18 year old Harriet and 20 year old Alice have been absolutely superb, and you would be taking over from them.

THE POST:

To help with our 2 immaculately mannered but fit competition horses who deserve, and receive, the highest standards.

Manage the yard, feed and tack rooms, Horsebox (Whittaker) and paddocks. We have a small yard with a horse-walker, rug drier, menage, fabulous hacking and dry paddocks close to the yard.

Hens – let out, feed and clean when necessary.

Airbnb changeover – a 2 bed cottage which needs cleaning and preparing beautifully for next guests.

Helping with charity garden open days

Some family cooking.

Some housekeeping.

Some driving.

House-sit and look after our 2 dogs when we’re away.

 

Competitive wage – I’m not looking for cheap labour and only suggest students because I love their flexibility and vibe but ideally someone who was available for at least 12 months.

We have a full-time gardener and other help but you also need to be happy to work alone.

Minimum Requirements

This post is for someone who has experience and a passion for horses but doesn’t necessarily want to be a full-time groom. We only have 2 horses but you would help with fitness work, hacking, using the walker, keeping the yard immaculate, bandaging, clipping etc – there may be scope for schooling and jumping for the right rider. Some competition grooming if that appeals to you, and if you were able to drive a 7.5 ton lorry, definitely!

You will be tidy and organised, an excellent driver, and most of all, smiley and willing with COMMON SENSE and notice what needs doing. Able to cook simple family meals.  A non-smoker and someone utterly reliable and conscientious is essential.

Accommodation details

You would have your own charming self-contained flat with its own entrance. All household bills paid. Double bed but available for a single person. WiFi. Bath with shower over, television. Fully furnished, lovely views.

Benefits

Competitive wage – I’m not looking for cheap labour and only suggest students because I love their flexibility and vibe but someone who was available for at least 12 months.  5 weeks holiday to include bank holiday lieu days.

 

More Information

  • Earliest start date 9th September 2019
  • Continent/Country United Kingdom
  • Position/s available Groom/Rider, Home Groom, Competition Groom, Housekeeper, Person Friday
  • Postcode/postcode region (if live out)
  • Yard disciplines/Activities Competitions, Eventing, Family Yard, Working Hunter
  • Riding Applicants must ride
  • Required Skills Bandage, Clip, Equine First Aid, Exercise/Hack Out, Muck Out
  • Non-equine skills required Housekeeper, Pet Care/Sitting
  • Accommodation provided Single
  • Days per week 5/6
  • Salary currency £
  • Salary guide Competitive salary to be discussed
  • Salary Period Weekly
  • Must Drive Car
  • Must have own car? Yes
  • Pets welcome? Possibly
  • Own horse welcome? Possibly
  • Smoking allowed? No
  • Image Gallery
Only candidates can apply for this job.
Share this job
Please login as a jobseeker to see the employers details

Information

Caroline Carter Recruitment Ltd
The Stables
Fildyke Road
Meppershall
Bedfordshire
SG17 5LU

caroline@carolinecarterrecruitment.com
0203 006 5730 / 07747 686 118

Registered company number 10657796good site
Caroline Carter Recruitment Ltd is registered with the UK Information Commissioner as a data controller with registered number ZA250621

ENDORSED BY