Call 0203 006 5730 / 07747 686118 or email info@carolinecarterrecruitment.com

Showjumping Work Rider 371 views

Ref: GL27308

Candidate contact details are only visible to employers with a current subscription
Subscribe

General Information

  • Age 31 years
  • Date of Birth 19th November 1992
  • Had previous paid employment within the equine industry? Locked
  • Preferred Countries United Kingdom, Wales
  • County/State/Region Berkshire, UK, Buckinghamshire, UK, Cambridgeshire, UK, Cornwall, UK, Cotswolds, Derbyshire, UK, Devon, UK, Gloucestershire, UK, Greater Manchester, United Kingdom, Greece, Hampshire, UK, Hertfordshire, UK, Kent, UK, Leicestershire, UK, Lincolnshire, UK, Norfolk, UK, North Yorkshire, UK, Northern Ireland, UK, Nottinghamshire, UK, Oxfordshire, UK, Shropshire, UK, Somerset, UK, Staffordshire, UK, Suffolk, UK, Surrey, UK, Tyne and Wear, UK, Warwickshire, UK, West Midlands, UK, West Sussex, UK, West Yorkshire, UK, Wiltshire, UK, Worcestershire, UK
  • Job Category Flexible Hours, Full Time, Part Time, Permanent, Seasonal, Short Term (Temporary)
  • Earliest start date 31st October 2023
  • Availability if Freelance/Short Term Please enquire
  • Freelance: Business Name Locked
  • Freelance: Hourly Rate Locked
  • Freelance: are you insured? Locked
  • Notice period None
  • Best time to call Locked
  • Working Couples: Partner's profile reference number Locked
  • Live in or out Live in, Live out
  • Co-habiting? Locked
  • Full Postcode if live out (Private) Locked
  • Expected Job Level Apprentice, Trainee, Groom/Rider, Rider, Part of a Team, Assistant Head Person, Manager, Riding Instructor, Admin/Office-based
  • Animals to bring to a job Locked
  • Describe the animal/s you HAVE to bring to the job (if applicable) Locked
  • Can drive Car, Trailer
  • Own car? None
  • Height 5’2” / 157cm
  • Approximate weight 8.5st / 54kg / 119lb
  • Total years experience with horses Locked
  • Previous paid/work experience Locked
  • Future disciplines Dealer, Endurance, Eventing, Foaling, Livery, Reining, Retail, Sales, Show Jumping, Stud, Therapeutic Riding, Training Yard/Positions, Trekking, Western
  • Riding Role? Locked
  • Nationality Greek, South African
  • Languages spoken Locked
  • Qualifications Locked
  • Equine Skills Back/Break, Bandage, Compete, Exercise/Hack Out, Lunging, Maintenance Skills, Management Skills, Muck Out, Plait, Pull Mane/Tail, Ride, Rider/Trainer, Sales Preparation, School, Show Turnout, Sole charge, Supervisory Skills, Teach, Trim, Work Rider, Work with children, Young Stock Rider
  • Non-Equine Skills Locked
  • Longest time in one job Locked
  • Position held in this job Locked
  • 2nd longest time in one job Locked
  • Position held in this job Locked
  • Upload your CV Locked
  • Current passport? Locked
  • DBS (formerly CRB) or equivalent Locked
  • Smoker? Locked
  • Video URL Locked
  • Image Uploads Locked

Experience with Horses

I have been working with competition horses as a showjumper for 25 years. I currently own 2 horses – a Thoroughbred ex-racehorse called Costa Bravo and a Selle Francais called Ablesse we imported as a youngster – now happily retired in South Africa.

My experience with horses include the following:

  • Backing and producing a young horse – produced Ablesse up to open grade showjumping. We competed at 1.35m before we had to retire her due to injuries.
  • Competitive showjumper for 10 years at open level (1.35m) in South Africa. Trained horses at home up to 1.50m showjumping.
  • Competitive eventer for 2 years – trained Costa Bravo to event up to Novice level in South Africa.
  • Groom and yard duties – I worked for free as a groom and rider for Cian O’Connor in November-December 2016 during my vacation prior to university studies. I did general groom and yard duties at home with my own horses for a few years.
  • Rehabilitation of horses – post-op care, farrier health care (seedy toe and lame horses), post-op colic care, affiliated theta healer I for animals, post-op and post-injuries fitness.
  • Videographer and photographer with horses.
  • Costa Bravo and I worked with children who suffered from learning disabilities or disabled.

 

Key Skills

  • Work well with others and capable to work as a sole charge
  • Turning out for shows
  • Handling/riding young horses
  • Handling/riding professional horses
  • Project and event management
  • Admin and PA
  • Fitness work for horses
  • Backing and producing young horses
  • Competitive showjumping
  • Coaching and public speaking
  • Videography and photography
  • Sales and retail
  • Working with disabled children and those with learning disabilities
  • Theta healer

 

Strengths and Weaknesses

• What do you most enjoy about working with horses?

Every horse has their own unique quirks and personalities. I love to connect with the horse and unlock the key to their true potential. With time and patience, being able to help that horse unlock its potential and nurture its talent is rewarding for me. Being able to work with them and to watch them learn and thrive gives me great pleasure.

 

• Is there anything you’d like to improve?

I would like to improve and expand my knowledge on horse care – such as health and nutrition, homeopathy, fitness and rehabilitation welfare. My skills in plaiting and clipping needs further improvement as well. I am aiming to eventually get my qualifications as a groom/rider, stud farm manager, senior yard manager, showjumping coach and professional showjumper.

 

• Why should employers consider you above any other job seeker?

I have been passionate about horses since I was 6 years old and I am a determined showjumper who will reach the top of my sport by keeping the welfare and health of the horse as a first priority. I am a hard worker and quick learner, and I have learnt that I am not afraid of the type of work thrown at me. I care about the horses that I work with, as well as the people who work with them.

 

Requirements

• What would you like to do or gain in your next job?

I am focusing on showjumping as a professional/work rider, as well as getting my qualifications as a yard manager.

 

• Do you need accommodation?

I am married and can do either live-out accommodation or live-in (as long as my husband and small chihuahua is able to stay and there is good wifi as my husband works remotely in the IT industry).

 

• Do you have any special requirements for any animals you wish to bring with you?

I have a small chihuahua. If we live on the property, I would need separate residence for my small dog as well as husband (IT and hospitality professional).

 

• Do you have any ongoing commitments?

None.

 

• Do you have any holidays booked that an employer needs to know of?

None.

 

Information

Caroline Carter Recruitment Ltd
The Stables
Fildyke Road
Meppershall
Bedfordshire
SG17 5LU

info@carolinecarterrecruitment.com
0203 006 5730 / 07747 686 118

Registered company number 10657796good site
Caroline Carter Recruitment Ltd is registered with the UK Information Commissioner as a data controller with registered number ZA250621

ENDORSED BY