fbpx
Call 0203 006 5730 / 07747 686118 or email info@carolinecarterrecruitment.com

Compassionate Rider 269 views

Ref: GL12750

Candidate contact details are only visible to employers with a current subscription
Subscribe

General Information

  • Age 22 years
  • Date of Birth 5th May 1998
  • Had previous paid employment within the equine industry? Locked
  • Preferred Countries United Kingdom, Wales, Scotland, Ireland, Northern Ireland, Europe
  • County/State/Region Anywhere
  • Job Category Full Time
  • Earliest start date 30th September 2020
  • Freelance: Business Name Locked
  • Freelance: Hourly Rate Locked
  • Freelance: are you insured? Locked
  • Notice period If possible I would need a month to notify my current job and sort out the horse etc.
  • Best time to call Locked
  • Working Couples: Partner's profile reference number Locked
  • Live in or out Live in
  • Co-habiting? Locked
  • Full Postcode if live out (Private) Locked
  • Expected Job Level Apprentice, Trainee, Groom/Rider, Rider, Part of a Team, Sole Charge
  • Animals to bring to a job Locked
  • Describe the animal/s you HAVE to bring to the job (if applicable) Locked
  • Can drive Car
  • Own car? Car
  • Height 5’7” / 170cm
  • Approximate weight 11st / 69.9kg / 154lb
  • Total years experience with horses Locked
  • Previous paid/work experience Locked
  • Future disciplines College, Dealer, Dressage, Endurance, Eventing, Family Yard, Hunting, Livery, P2P, Racing Flat, Racing NH, Rescue, Rehabilitation, Riding School, Sales, Show Jumping, Stud, Team Chase, Training Yard/Positions, Working Hunter
  • Riding Role? Locked
  • Nationality British
  • Languages spoken Locked
  • Qualifications Locked
  • Equine Skills Back/Break, Exercise/Hack Out, Lunging, Muck Out, Ride, Work Rider, Young Stock Handler
  • Non-Equine Skills Locked
  • Longest time in one job Locked
  • Position held in this job Locked
  • 2nd longest time in one job Locked
  • Position held in this job Locked
  • Upload your CV Locked
  • Current passport? Locked
  • DBS (formerly CRB) or equivalent Locked
  • Smoker? Locked
  • Video URL Locked
  • Image Uploads Locked

Experience with Horses

Alongside college and working on yards I have always been around horses as my family had their own, I got my first horse age 11, who was BSJA pony, the horses I’ve had since have all been neglected or abused or needed re training and bar 2 have all stayed with me. One particular horse I owned for 8 years, we bought him when I was about 12, he was so severely neglected his hair had grown and matted over his head collar, he kicked, bit and was severely head shy.

I handled him for a year with help from my mum, then we broke him in.
I ended up doing everything on him XC, beach rides etc and most of it bareback.

He was always hard to deal with and wouldn’t allow new people or a man to be near him, after 8 years he turned on me and kicked me in the face in a freak accident, his behaviour had been declining for months but the vet couldn’t find anything, unfortunately the heartbreaking decision was made to have him pts as he wouldn’t let anyone touch him in the stable without being dangerous to handle, I am still heartbroken as he was going to be with me for life, but I know that we tried everything and I’m extremely grateful for everything he taught me how to be compassionate, kind and definitely taught me how to ride, to this day he taught me the valuable skills I now use on my project horse I bought 3 years ago and every horse I handle or ride.

 

Level 1 & 2 in horse care – the course included riding 5x a week ( flatwork, jumping and XC ) + riding my own alongside, lunging, bandaging and general horse care.

Working on Verity Perry’s dressage yard in Rosevidney, Cornwall a few times over the  space of about 3 years.

This job included handling young stock, broodmares, stallions and clients horses, general yard duties , riding clients horses and the riding schools own including hacking, jumping in the school and on grass.

Interview Age 18, at Charlie Longsdons race yard in Gloucestershire, rode 2x racehorses up the gallops for the first time and got the job, unfortunately I couldn’t take my horse that I had at the time and it was a deal breaker for me.

Interview age 21 at Chialvo Polo in Cirencester, got the job if I wanted it but realised polo isn’t for me.

 

 

 

 

Key Skills

I personally feel my compassion and kindness towards horses is by biggest attribute, I’m calm and know my way around a horse.

I can sit to most things well thanks to a few of my horses teaching me that and I feel this is a valuable skill as green or “ naughty “ horses don’t put me off.

 

 

Strengths and Weaknesses

• Everything, they have been my life since I was a small child and horses has been the only thing I’ve wanted to pursue in life.

 

• Is there anything you’d like to improve?

My plaiting and clipping skills and general turnout need improvement, because the majority of mine have come to me for re habilitation they didn’t go out to shows etc much and my main horse who I had for 8 years was a traditional gypsy cob so I never needed to plait.

I did do some practise in college but that was a while ago.

 

• Why should employers consider you above any other job seeker?

My passion for horses, it’s the only thing I’ve taken a interest in and the only thing I can see myself doing in life, if you want someone kind and compassionate and trustworthy around your horses then I’m the person for you.

 

Requirements

• What would you like to do or gain in your next job?
I’m open to suggestion, I’d like to maybe learn how to teach but I ideally just want to become a more skilled horse person in general .

 

• Do you need accommodation?

Yes

• Do you have any special requirements for any animals you wish to bring with you?

I have 1 male 3yo Staffordshire bull terrier, he’s castrated and is well behaved he would need to be able to come with me, I also have a 16.1 8yo WB x SH gelding which I would like to come with me but I would also consider loaning him out if it wasn’t suitable.

• Do you have any ongoing commitments?
Just the horse and dog, work is not a problem.

• Do you have any holidays booked that an employer needs to know of?

No.

Information

Caroline Carter Recruitment Ltd
The Stables
Fildyke Road
Meppershall
Bedfordshire
SG17 5LU

caroline@carolinecarterrecruitment.com
0203 006 5730 / 07747 686 118

Registered company number 10657796good site
Caroline Carter Recruitment Ltd is registered with the UK Information Commissioner as a data controller with registered number ZA250621

ENDORSED BY