fbpx
Call 0203 006 5730 / 07747 686118 or email info@carolinecarterrecruitment.com

Groom 35 views

Ref: GL21417

Candidate contact details are only visible to employers with a current subscription
Subscribe

General Information

  • Age 23 years
  • Date of Birth 5th October 1997
  • Had previous paid employment within the equine industry? Locked
  • Preferred Countries Scotland, The EU, Europe, United States of America, United Arab Emirates, Other
  • County/State/Region Anywhere
  • Job Category Full Time
  • Earliest start date 30th September 2020
  • Freelance: Business Name Locked
  • Freelance: Hourly Rate Locked
  • Freelance: are you insured? Locked
  • Notice period 2 weeks
  • Best time to call Locked
  • Working Couples: Partner's profile reference number Locked
  • Live in or out Live out
  • Co-habiting? Locked
  • Full Postcode if live out (Private) Locked
  • Expected Job Level Groom, Groom/Rider
  • Animals to bring to a job Locked
  • Describe the animal/s you HAVE to bring to the job (if applicable) Locked
  • Can drive Car
  • Own car? Car
  • Height 5”6’ / 167cm
  • Approximate weight 10st / 63.5kg / 140lb
  • Total years experience with horses Locked
  • Previous paid/work experience Locked
  • Future disciplines Carriage Driving, Dealer, Dressage, Endurance, Eventing, Family Yard, Foaling, Horse Transport, Hunting, Livery, P2P, Polo, Pony Club Activities, Racing Flat, Racing NH, Reining, Rescue, Rehabilitation, Sales, Showing, Show Jumping, Stud, Team Chase, Training Yard/Positions, Trekking, Western, Working Hunter
  • Riding Role? Locked
  • Nationality British
  • Languages spoken Locked
  • Qualifications Locked
  • Equine Skills Back/Break, Bandage, Broodmares, Clip, Equine First Aid, Exercise/Hack Out, Foaling/Foal Watch, Long Rein, Lunging, Maintenance Skills, Muck Out, Plait, Pull Mane/Tail, Ride, School, Show Turnout, Sole charge, Stallion Handling, Trim, Work Rider, Work with children, Young Stock Handler, Young Stock Rider
  • Non-Equine Skills Locked
  • Longest time in one job Locked
  • Position held in this job Locked
  • 2nd longest time in one job Locked
  • Position held in this job Locked
  • Upload your CV Locked
  • Current passport? Locked
  • DBS (formerly CRB) or equivalent Locked
  • Smoker? Locked
  • Video URL Locked
  • Image Uploads Locked

Experience with Horses

Outline your experience with horses here/the scope of your freelance services. If you’re looking for a non-equine or non- yard-based job please use this space to describe your experience skills/abilities and adapt the questions to suit your line of work.

I started out the same way most horse loving kids do helping out at my local riding school. I then got my first pony at aged 11 and looked after him independently as well as helping out around the livery yard.  Upon leaving school I worked at a private show jumping yard where there was a small team of grooms. I carried out general yard duties as well as exercising the horses in the arena and out hacking. This was a very small yard and I wanted to gain more experience so at age 16 I moved a couple of hours away for a live in grooms position at a yard that is well renowned for producing show horses. Jobs included backing young horses, schooling, exercise riding as well as show preparation such as bathing and packing the lorry at all hours. I was normally the stay at home groom and had the responsibility of looking after the yard but did go to shows including HOYS.

I then took a break from horses but still did dome freelance groom jobs for friends of friends while they were on holiday. I would often house sit and look after their cats, dogs, chickens etc.

I spent 3 summers in America working at a summer camp. I was a camp counsellor, riding instructor and groom (or wrangler as they call it). I took horse care and riding lessons as well as trail rides for bigger groups. During summer camp I worked with a group of wranglers however I stayed an extra few months and was the sole carer for a herd of 56 horses. Most of which were rescues so needed very specific care and or medication to maintain their health.

When I came back from America I started working as a groom at an equestrian competition centre.  Again I had general yard duties, handling competition horses, exercising, turnout and show preparation. Keeping the yard tidy was of upmost importance for safety as well as appearances as there was always competitions running.

I spent 3 months at my family’s farm in New Zealand. It is a working beef farm but over the last couple of years they have made a name for themselves breeding and producing show jumpers, competing up to 1.40m. While I was there there were 4 foals born. Here I gained more experience handling young stock, broodmares and stallions. I rode up to 6 horses a day either schooling or riding the horses round the steep hills on the farm to build fitness.  I was left with the responsibility of show perpetration while my family worked the farm so it meant that we could get more done in a day. I would go to shows or stay at the farm to look after the horses at at home.  This included looking after the farm dogs, taking the quad to check on stock or bathing more horses for  a quick swap around before the next show. I take pride in maintaining a clean and tidy yard so I enjoy making the yard nice and tidy to come home to after a show.

 

 

Key Skills

What are you particularly good at? For example: working alone, working with others, clipping, plaiting, turning out for shows, handling stallions, handling/riding young horses, non-equine skills etc.

As mentioned previously I am happy being left to work alone but I enjoy working as part of a team as well. I am confident riding and handling more challenging horses. As I said in my attached CV have worked in customer services.  I am friendly and easy to get along with.

 

 

Strengths and Weaknesses

• What do you most enjoy about working with horses?

I love animals in general so being able to have a job that involves being around horses all day is ideal!! I enjoy being outdoors and contently being busy.  The more work you put into your horses happiness  the more they give back to you and its so rewarding.

• Is there anything you’d like to improve?

There is always so much more you can learn with horses so I’d be happy to gain more experience in general. I’d like more practice plaiting and to improving my riding if given the opportunity.  I  have to admit that mucking out takes me a bit longer than most people. (I like to keep the stables immaculate)

• Why should employers consider you above any other job seeker?

I have a strong work ethic and attention to detail so I like to think I go the extra mile to keep the horses happy.

 

Requirements

• What would you like to do or gain in your next job?

As I said previously I would be keen to expand my knowledge of the job.

 

• Do you need accommodation?

No

 

• Do you have any special requirements for any animals you wish to bring with you?

No

 

• Do you have any ongoing commitments?

I have a horse that I ride for a friend but I’m hoping that I will be able to keep up this commitment.

 

• Do you have any holidays booked that an employer needs to know of?

No

 

Information

Caroline Carter Recruitment Ltd
The Stables
Fildyke Road
Meppershall
Bedfordshire
SG17 5LU

caroline@carolinecarterrecruitment.com
0203 006 5730 / 07747 686 118

Registered company number 10657796good site
Caroline Carter Recruitment Ltd is registered with the UK Information Commissioner as a data controller with registered number ZA250621

ENDORSED BY